First ride, first adventure.

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Day Trippin'' started by MotorCade, Aug 6, 2010.

1. MotorCade

MotorCade Rugby whore

Oddometer:
    Ok... since this is my first ride report - I'll kick it off with a little background.

My name is Cade, and I'm a 32 year old engineer type. I work in the San Fernando Valley for a little firm that manufactures rocket engines for the space shuttle and other various combustible vehicles, manned and otherwise. So controlled explosions are our business, and as we all know, control is an illusion. So I make a living fixing things. There will always be broken things. :evil

As an engineering type, I was always the quirky kid with two left feet and who wasn't much good at any sport involving a ball. I had no understanding of the nuances of sports and due to my parents divorce, I was taught to throw by my mother. Thanks mom. :cry

So I stumbled (literally!) through my adolescent years until around puberty when I discovered that on a bicycle, your feet don't get in the way. Other kids were discovering girls, I was discovering bikes. Now that I write this, I think maybe it wasn't such a good deal.

Bikes were my gateway drug to all things mechanical. I still ride - but I progressed to jeeps and then cars, and then race cars - eventually even instructing for a little while. However, I didn't trust myself on a motorcycle - too much love for speed - until last year, when I bought my first motorcycle, a Ducati 748. My cars are gathering dust, as I commute on the Duc. I have 3 (two projects and a race car), plus the wife's car - 4 total. I'm hooked, and I'm only continuing to feed the addiction here on ADV- which brings me to my ride report.

The Duc is great. But I need something slightly more practical. Sparing you the details, I decided on a used KTM 950 Adventure, 2006. The one I wanted was in Oakland, 8 hours north, and I'm in SoCal. Time for a mini-adventure!
  2. BOSERO

BOSERO Adventurer

Oddometer: