Am I the only Adventurer in the Ouachitas?

Discussion in 'Tejas and the Gulf States' started by jgas, Nov 17, 2012.

1. jgas

jgas Stoogely Adventurerer

Oddometer:
    I ride a DRZ 400 with a big tank, live in Thornburg Ar., eastern edge of the Ouachitas, about 30 miles NW of Little Rock on Hwy 10. Or, 30 miles south of Morrilton, 7 miles south of Perryville. I can see the eastern boundary of the Ouachita Nat Forest from my front yard. I've been riding the eastern end of this area for many years, now want to explore it all the way to Talimena. I am a former Enduro rider, and prefer the "harder" side of Dual Sport, or I suppose the really hard side of Adventure riding. I don't care about going crazy fast, but I also don't want to stay on wide easy dirt roads all the time. I prefer to keep off of pavement most of the time, but if it links up an interesting off road ride, thats fine. If an old log road to a river or creek, waterfall or any kind of trail seemingly headed anywhere that looks interesting comes up in my exploration, I'm taking it. My goal is to eventually see every mountain top, creek, valley, overlook, river, and any other interesting thing in the Ouachitas. I can take any fairly good off road rider to some pretty interesting places now, and would like to lead or be led by anyone with similar interests to see more.

Eventually I'd like to find a mostly off road route to the Talimena Ok. area to link up with the Talimaniacs, some salty old off roaders who ride mostly singletrack in the Talimena area. I've ridden with them before, great bunch and great riders. Talimena is a fantastic place to ride, but it's pretty darn tough. About like an Enduro race course most of the time, but certainly not impossible. Perryville to Talimena Ok., mostly off road, on the most difficult roads/trails possible for a DS bike sound like fun? I think it could be accomplished in 6-12 months of exploration? If we did it in less time, or it took 5 years, so what?