ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Layin' down tracks (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   can u reverse a route ? (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=109127)

DockingPilot 12-12-2005 08:57 AM

can u reverse a route ?
 
Does anyone know how u can reverse a route that is already loaded into the Garmin 26010 ? To b clear, I have a route already in the unit, now I want to invert it, can I and how ? If anyone knows.

waypointX 12-12-2005 09:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DockingPilot
Does anyone know how u can reverse a route that is already loaded into the Garmin 26010 ? To b clear, I have a route already in the unit, now I want to invert it, can I and how ? If anyone knows.

I'm not currently aware of a tool to do this, but I'll be happy add it to my tool. If you want to PM me the GPX file I can use it to test the feature and send you the reversed route.

DockingPilot 12-12-2005 09:45 AM

Well. what I was looking for was to be able to do it on the road from the unit. I can reverse it on my Mapsource but I want to do it from my Nav II.

R-dubb 12-12-2005 11:17 AM

For whatever reason, reversing routes has been a controversial subject at Garmin. A few of the more recent units do it. The 60C, for example, has a reverse route function. Most of the units, including the 276 and the 2610, do not include a reverse route function. With the 2610 you can resequence the via points. This in effect allows a route to be reversed, but it takes work if there are a bunch of via points.

spagthorpe 12-12-2005 12:52 PM

I thought the 276C would do it. Now I have to go check.

DRTBYK 12-12-2005 01:55 PM

Nope, only in Mapsource. I have wanted to make use of that [missing] feature on my 276c several times in the last couple of years. It would definately lessen the consuption of Route storage on the GPS.

CA Stu 12-12-2005 01:57 PM

I suggest you download the latest version of software for your GPS.

My eMap can do it on the fly.


Thanks
CA Stu

DockingPilot 12-12-2005 02:03 PM

Thanx fellas.

Kingsqueak 12-12-2005 02:33 PM

An interesting reason this isn't an included option on a lot of the nav systems is simply one-way streets and a liability concern if people weren't sharp enough to realize that reversing their route would send them the wrong way.

I found mention of this on some other forums and frankly it makes sense if you consider the IQ of the average citizen these days.

dizave 12-12-2005 02:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kingsqueak
An interesting reason this isn't an included option on a lot of the nav systems is simply one-way streets and a liability concern if people weren't sharp enough to realize that reversing their route would send them the wrong way.

I found mention of this on some other forums and frankly it makes sense if you consider the IQ of the average citizen these days.

In a GPX file, a route is just an ordered set of waypoints, which would lead me to believe the GPS calculates the route between points, so the above shouldn't be an issue. Does garmin transmit extra info in a route?

R-dubb 12-12-2005 02:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CA Stu
I suggest you download the latest version of software for your GPS.

My eMap can do it on the fly.

Be carefull of what you say. eMap does not calculate routes at all, therefore reversing a route is simple. The units we're talking about are autorouting and just don't do it.

I read a Garmin response once that said something to the effect that they will never do that because of issues relating to freeway ramps and one-way streets leading to bad routes. I guess if a via point is stuck in a bad spot that could be an issue. So why then do the 60c and a few others have that function?

cbmwgs 12-12-2005 03:06 PM

76c
 
I have a 76C autorouting color unit that will reverse route.

Just highlight the route on the 76C screen and then hit menu and the 2nd item down is reverse route.

Used it more than once.

BirdmanH54 12-12-2005 03:34 PM

The 376c does it.

R-dubb 12-12-2005 03:40 PM

How about the Quest or Quest II? Anyone know?

So far we got:

GPS V - no
276 - ??
2610 -no
60c - yes
76c - yes
376 - yes

spagthorpe 12-12-2005 04:40 PM

Specs off the Garmin site for both the 276C and 376C says:

Quote:

Stores up to 3,000 user waypoints, 50 reversible routes (300 waypoints per route)
:dunno


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014