ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Thumpers (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   03 KTM 640 Adv -- Electrical Problem (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=169958)

alpiv 09-28-2006 12:23 PM

03 KTM 640 Adv -- Electrical Problem
 
I was our riding and had to turn around (missed a turn), turn the bars to the left to make a left turn, felt resistence and as I cleared the resistence, the bike shut off.
Turn the bars streight, it would start and run fine. Yet when I turn the bars far left, about the time the keyswitch would pass the frame it would shut off --Like I was grounding the system out.

Anyone else have this problem ?

gaspipe 09-28-2006 01:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by alpiv
I was our riding and had to turn around (missed a turn), turn the bars to the left to make a left turn, felt resistence and as I cleared the resistence, the bike shut off.
Turn the bars streight, it would start and run fine. Yet when I turn the bars far left, about the time the keyswitch would pass the frame it would shut off --Like I was grounding the system out.

Anyone else have this problem ?

Wonder if the ignition switch leads pulled out of the soldered contacts.

It happened to me on the CD Ride. Check the pigtail coming from the bottom of the switch. It's about a foot long, and goes into a molex connector on the right side fairing brace.

LVR resoldered them in the field.

Check it out and let us know.

:ear

fire_strom 09-28-2006 04:45 PM

If it turns out not to be what Gaspipe mentioned you might check the choke cable. mine got hung up on somthing so that it'd die abruptly when the bars turned full lock. do your lights shut off or just the motor?
scott

billy bee 09-28-2006 05:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fire_strom
If it turns out not to be what Gaspipe mentioned you might check the choke cable. mine got hung up on somthing so that it'd die abruptly when the bars turned full lock. do your lights shut off or just the motor?
scott

I had the same experience with the choke cable...

bb

jfn68 09-28-2006 06:20 PM

my 99 adv did that,it broke a wire about 100mm forward of the ignition switch,it was either white or yellow,on the rhs.

alpiv 09-28-2006 06:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fire_strom
If it turns out not to be what Gaspipe mentioned you might check the choke cable. mine got hung up on somthing so that it'd die abruptly when the bars turned full lock. do your lights shut off or just the motor?
scott

No, shuts everything off and I have to turn the key off then back on to get it to start..
I broke the front end down this evening and could not find anything loose or frayed something.

Bike starts fine and still runs with bars turned..

I checked for obstructions or pulled wires with nothing showing..

Gaspipe: Which wires came loose on yours?

gaspipe 09-28-2006 07:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by alpiv
Gaspipe: Which wires came loose on yours?

You have to disassemble the switch. The black plastic bottom part of the switch has a hole in the middle where the wiring pigtail goes into the switch. Inside there is where the wires pulled off the soldered terminals.

If your IMO goes all wonky and dies or is blank, and the motor dies like you turned the ignition off, I am betting that's what it is.

A pic from the ride report, page 20:

http://www.whiskythrottle.net/cd06/small/210.jpg

HTH,

Bruce

OldnoGPS 09-29-2006 05:33 AM

You should whip the guy who sold you that thing! (Kidding, it was me.)
FYI - I never had it do that to me. Or anything else, bike was totally reliable.
My old DR650 would cut off turning left like that from the choke as was mentioned. With the tank off it didn't do it, just enough extra stretch with it on that it did. Rerouting fixed it but it was hard to find, I thought sure it was electrical.
Gaspipe surely knows more than me about the thing. I do know that what I saw of the harness/connectors on that bike were all as new and clean.
Sorry it's being cantankerous.
Is the clutch interlock still connected, maybe being pulled on? (I never removed the interlocks, don't know why - first thing I did on my DRZ and XR).
Ted

FBOMB 09-29-2006 06:18 AM

+2 on the choke cable issue. If I would turn the bars all the way
to the right, instant shut down. I removed the tank and found
2 broken zip ties that where used to hold the choke cable
to the frame. I rerouted the choke cable and used heavy duty
zip ties and have not had the problem since.

Hope this helps.

alpiv 09-30-2006 12:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by OldnoGPS
You should whip the guy who sold you that thing! (Kidding, it was me.)
Ted

It was the PO's fault!

Normal wear and tear does this..
The pig tail is a loose and as one turns the steering head it moves withing the lower housing of the switch.
http://www.whiskythrottle.net/cd06/small/210.jpg

I had three frayed wires..
I took it apart and re-soldered each connection.
I would check this before any long distance run....

Many thanks "GP"

gunnerbuck 09-30-2006 03:32 PM

I had the same thing go on my 03, upon reassembly after soldering I put a lump of silicone aound the wire before I slid the base cup back in place. By doing this I hoped to stop the twisting action on the terminals, it's been about 20,000 KM since my fix and I have had no further problems with the keyswitch assembly.

PackMule 09-30-2006 05:58 PM

Nominating for the index...

alpiv 10-01-2006 04:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gunnerbuck
I had the same thing go on my 03, upon reassembly after soldering I put a lump of silicone aound the wire before I slid the base cup back in place. By doing this I hoped to stop the twisting action on the terminals, it's been about 20,000 KM since my fix and I have had no further problems with the keyswitch assembly.

Thought about doing that too. Guess I'll be pulling it apart again..
Better safe then sorry.

Many thanks

OldnoGPS 10-02-2006 05:50 AM

Al,
Glad you/Gaspipe found the problem. I knew I should have just been riding with the front wheel in the air and steering with the throttle and body english instead of turning them bars!!!
I'll pass this on to the local 640'ers.
Ted

svenb 10-15-2008 12:50 PM

Can these two cables create my problems?
 
1 Attachment(s)
See the attached image. I had have some problems during this season on my 2003 640 Adv.

Quite often It will not start, similar to no juice in the battery. Displays shut´s off, starter klicks. If I use decomp I might get it started. Otherwise I have to kickstart. Then it works fine for a day or two. Strange

On my latest trip it was more serious. When I was as far from home I could be it wont start or let me kickstart it. I had to use cables from a friend.

Next problem was when I tried to use Hi beam, It just shut off the whole bike. No power at all, cables again.

If you look carefully, you can see that Blue and Red White are not soldered and they has been loose for a while.
According to wiring diagram, those cables are not in use, but what if they touches another cable?

Any ideas?


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014