ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   The perfect line and other riding myths (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   I learned to back it in this weekend! The best course ever!!! (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=273916)

jaak98 10-08-2007 03:38 PM

I learned to back it in this weekend! The best course ever!!!

I'm sore all over the body, have a few bruises, my diet today consist mainly of ibuprofen and I can slide it sideways! I'm a graduate of Aaron Stevenson's Cornerspin course. Two days ago my experience on slippery surfaces was limited to about 30 miles of gravel in the middle of nowhere in Utah, riding a fully loaded Tiger on a Atlantic-Pacific-Atlantic mission. I have been interested in learning to ride on looser surfaces with a bit more confidence, but taking a 500lbs bike out to the woods and starting experimenting didn't sound like a good idea. So when I heard about Cornerspin (while taking Aaron's Cornerspeed track course at VIR) I was sold. For $500 I get to use their 125cc dirtbike, their track, ride with a group of 6 students under supervision of 3 or more instructors for 2 days?! Hell yeah!
They sell Cornerpin as a road racing course taught on dirt. As it turns out, most of the MotoGP riders have started as flat-trackers or dirt-riders. Look at Nicky Hayden or Tony Elias sliding it on tarmac and it's got to be clear that they didn't first learn it at 200mph on racing slicks. Learning the mindset that sliding bike can be controlled just as much as a planted one - that was the main thing I took out of this weekend.