ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Orange Crush (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   Mount GPS above cluster on 990 Adventure (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=466772)

knuckledonkey 05-21-2009 10:30 AM

Mount GPS above cluster on 990 Adventure
 
I really like the RAM mounts, but all their site shows is the bar mount solution.

I want to mount my Zumo above the clocks, behind the windscreen. I've seen it in pictures, but am not sure how to do it.

Tips?

Steverino 05-21-2009 10:30 AM

Touratech

cpmodem 05-21-2009 10:44 AM

Ram makes a panel mount that works on top of the ADV dash. That's what I used, after re-inforcing the area from underneath.
http://www.ram-mount.com/CatalogResu...5/Default.aspx

http://www.ram-mount.com/Portals/0/P...s/RAMB101U.jpg

http://cpmodem.smugmug.com/photos/31935573_tPe6i-S.jpg

azkiwi 05-21-2009 10:48 AM

I have a Lowrance XOG which came supplied with a plastic bracket. I also provided some reinforcement underneath and it has held up just fine.

knuckledonkey 05-21-2009 11:01 AM

But all requires drilling into the cover, I assume?

Wolfhound 05-21-2009 11:08 AM

Yes - drilling is required. But - I managed it and am truly crap at this sort of thing!! KTM has an adapter mount that works with the Touratech mount (this part bolts to the cockpit subframe). They sell damped and non-damped ones. I went for the damped and it works great.
http://www.touratech-usa.com/shop/show.lasso?SKU=065-0142&-session=touratech:47287E89079e81C359OKw1CA94F7
http://ktmtwins.com/950adventure/040-0662.html

Enjoy - Wolfhound

Helmet Head 05-21-2009 12:05 PM

Click thumbnails for bigger pics
 
I just got the basic RAM ball mount with a diamond plate base and bolted it to the top of the dash:

http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m...h_IMG_2578.jpg

I use one of these double ball-socket arms as it's easy to adjust in all directions:

http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m...h_IMG_2579.jpg

This is the view from the rider's position:

http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m...h_IMG_2580.jpg

godtfred 05-21-2009 12:50 PM

Touratech mount.
 
The Touratech holders are rock solid and takes many gps models including the zumo, it comes in aluminum and black versions, with or without lock. They are rubber mounted to reduce vibration:
http://www.touratech.com/shops/001/i...151-0_I_01.JPGhttp://www.touratech.com/shops/001/i...verriegeln.gif

Here it shows a GPS mounted, unfortunately they did not have a picture of your zumo model on the site.
http://www.touratech.com/shops/001/i...0-0662-0_a.jpg

There are two mounts, Touratech's non adjustable version and KTM's adjustable version:
Touratechs:
http://www.touratech.com/shops/001/i...662-0_I_01.JPG
KTM's:
http://ktm.com/fileadmin/systemdata/...0112092150.jpg

I have KTM's version with a rubber mounted holder for my 276 Garmin GPS, its the unlockable version as it makes the GPS sit a bit lower, but still makes all readouts visible even tough I'm medium-tall.

Installation is super easy. There are picture as well as text instructions following the product showing how to do it. You remove the tanks/side panels, as well as the front wind screen (all you need to do is remember what bolts you took out of where), you can see all bolts you need to remove on the outside of the bike. When they are off, you mount the lower part to the front "sub-frame" in existing holes, then you drill holes through the top panel (can't remember the size) and mount the top part through. Attatch everything again... Simple and quick. I used perhaps 45 minutes (and I'm no mechanic.)

sunsurfnride 05-21-2009 01:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by godtfred
The Touratech holders are rock solid and takes many gps models including the zumo, it comes in aluminum and black versions, with or without lock. They are rubber mounted to reduce vibration:
http://www.touratech.com/shops/001/i...151-0_I_01.JPGhttp://www.touratech.com/shops/001/i...verriegeln.gif

Here it shows a GPS mounted, unfortunately they did not have a picture of your zumo model on the site.
http://www.touratech.com/shops/001/i...0-0662-0_a.jpg

There are two mounts, Touratech's non adjustable version and KTM's adjustable version:
Touratechs:
http://www.touratech.com/shops/001/i...662-0_I_01.JPG




KTM's:
http://ktm.com/fileadmin/systemdata/...0112092150.jpg

I have KTM's version with a rubber mounted holder for my 276 Garmin GPS, its the unlockable version as it makes the GPS sit a bit lower, but still makes all readouts visible even tough I'm medium-tall.

Installation is super easy. There are picture as well as text instructions following the product showing how to do it. You remove the tanks/side panels, as well as the front wind screen (all you need to do is remember what bolts you took out of where), you can see all bolts you need to remove on the outside of the bike. When they are off, you mount the lower part to the front "sub-frame" in existing holes, then you drill holes through the top panel (can't remember the size) and mount the top part through. Attatch everything again... Simple and quick. I used perhaps 45 minutes (and I'm no mechanic.)


+1 on the Touratech, just installed in on my 990.

BobbyC 05-21-2009 01:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by godtfred

This is the Touratech mount. KTM sells it but it's made by TT.

http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h1...v/IMG_0431.jpg

http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h1...0Adv/27001.jpg

godtfred 05-21-2009 01:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BobbyC
This is the Touratech mount. KTM sells it but it's made by TT.

I thought touratech stopped making that one under their own brand name... could not find it on the TT site anymore (but could obviously be wrong!)

BobbyC 05-21-2009 01:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by godtfred
I thought touratech stopped making that one under their own brand name... could not find it on the TT site anymore (but could obviously be wrong!)

Touratech 950/990 adapter


:thumb

crashmaster 05-21-2009 02:50 PM

I have the touratech mount. It works well but the unit shakes so bad in the dirt that you cant really read it. However, thats probably a good thing because if it didnt have that kind of suspension on the mount itself the Zumo cradle would be toast from off road riding in short order.

BobbyC 05-21-2009 03:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by crashmaster
I have the touratech mount. It works well but the unit shakes so bad in the dirt that you cant really read it. However, thats probably a good thing because if it didnt have that kind of suspension on the mount itself the Zumo cradle would be toast from off road riding in short order.

You need to be up on your pegs if it's shaking your gps that badly. :ricky

Did you install the rubber feet under the mount?

nunzo 05-21-2009 06:00 PM

My Zumo tachometer
 
This may sound weird but....1)I have my zumo mounted to the dash behind the shield on my 08 990. I installed a reinforced piece of aluminum mounted to the headlight frame assembly when I had the bike apart. This brace definitelysecures the dash due to weight and vibration. 2) I used a Ram mount with rubber between the base of the mount and the dask.

The weird thing is that when i am tooling around in gear (NOT 1st GEAR) and my revs get to around 2800-3000 the vibration of the zumo mandates a downshift to the next lower gear and at 3000 rpm or higher, the unit has no vibration is as smooth as glass (kind of).

I assume others expereince a smoother ride at higher revs and by keeping the bike in the 4000-6000 range.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014