ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Parallel Universe (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=77)
-   -   Kaoko Throttle Lock Install Issue - F800GS - OEM Guards (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=564379)

dukedar 03-30-2010 10:14 AM

Kaoko Throttle Lock Install Issue - F800GS - OEM Guards
 
I received my Kaoko Throttle lock yesterday for the F800GS with the OEM BMW hand guards (P/N CCF900).

For some reason, once I had it installed, it feels like it is always on, no matter what setting that I put it at.

Originally, I had an issue with the handguard, because it was touching the mirror and I did not have enough of a gap for the lock, but I opened up the guard a little and I was able to get it to fit. From what I can see, this will not affect the lock, as the rest of the guard will simply move inboard.

I have two ideas:

1) Based on the instructions, move the throttle inwards. I have searched the service DVD, but I have not yet found how those marks are supposed to line up for the throttle installation. Does anyone know or has seen how to do this? i.e. move the throttle and line it up?

2) Make a new spacer for the OEM guards that is a little longer or simply add a washer of an appropriate size to the existing one. Anyone try this?

I can post photos later today if it will help.

I have also emailed the supplier, hopefully I will hear back, but I figured that I would put it out here first.

Thanks!

dukedar 03-30-2010 07:01 PM

Some photos
 
Adding some pics:

The alignment mark as delivered:

http://lh3.ggpht.com/_ZyF-dKKKdMM/S7...0/P1000159.JPG

About a 2mm gap when assembled WITHOUT the Kaoko lock:

http://lh4.ggpht.com/_ZyF-dKKKdMM/S7...0/P1000163.JPG

Standard setup with OEM Handguards:

http://lh4.ggpht.com/_ZyF-dKKKdMM/S7...0/P1000164.JPG

Bad picture, but that is about 11mm to stuff in there:

http://lh4.ggpht.com/_ZyF-dKKKdMM/S7...0/P1000166.JPG

I will tinker with it some more tomorrow, but hopefully someone can chime in...

But the more I think about it, the more that I think i may need to go the washer route... we'll see...

dukedar 03-31-2010 07:01 PM

I solved the issue. I heard back from Kaoko:

- loosen the mirror/brake and back it off enough to clear the cover on the switch
- remove the switch cover and loosen the throttle
- move the throttle inwards by about 1mm
- zip it all back up again.

Works like a charm!

i-man 10-01-2010 06:37 PM

Found this fix for my issue...while i was not having the issue of the lock aways being on.if the heated handgrips were one i guess things would expand the the Kaoko was always engaged..very bad..i was able to move the throttle over a hair ..seems to worked! Thanks

murpies 12-19-2012 09:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dukedar (Post 12558183)
I solved the issue. I heard back from Kaoko:

- loosen the mirror/brake and back it off enough to clear the cover on the switch
- remove the switch cover and loosen the throttle
- move the throttle inwards by about 1mm
- zip it all back up again.

Works like a charm!

Hi appreciate Yur info, do you have picture of the step by step instruction? Cos picture paint a thousand story. Thanks

somejuan 12-23-2012 12:15 AM

There is a video on their website from memory

murpies 01-01-2013 02:42 AM

Somejuan: thanks for the hind, I got it on the wunderlich video clip as to how to back the throttle switch a few inches for the it to work.

Dukedar: can post a few picture of the end product of the throttle lock as compare with your previous picture that u had share with us ? Thanks .


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014