ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Parallel Universe (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=77)
-   -   help- need procedure from BMW manual for clutch (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=578782)

rockhopper 05-12-2010 11:36 AM

help- need procedure from BMW manual for clutch
 
Hi all,

I fried my clutch on the 800gs on a muddy Welsh hillside a while ago, anyway got a new clutch kit last week, and have now got round to fitting it, took the side cover to find the old one - not looking too bad, a bit of overheating but nothing too bad
<a href="http://picasaweb.google.co.uk/lh/photo/zcOi_Rb43poQeLm4BCj9yQ?feat=embedwebsite"><img src="http://lh4.ggpht.com/_q7SuV7XH5Go/S-hu5uMBqhI/AAAAAAAABxI/fA_3RS9-2oI/s800/P5097048.JPG" /></a>

<a href="http://picasaweb.google.co.uk/lh/photo/P_IgCC54a5-YQt4cjmeo4w?feat=embedwebsite"><img src="http://lh5.ggpht.com/_q7SuV7XH5Go/S-hvNoQa3GI/AAAAAAAABxU/_DzyFIWO6PA/s800/P5097051.JPG" /></a>

swapped for the new plates and started to put the side cover on....... now the problem, the clutch actuating plunger in the middle of the clutch on the bike has to locate in the socket on the cover in order for the lever on the cover , only problem is that the plunger bit doesn't seem to be going far enough in and when we are all re-assembled, the clutch is nearly out of adjustment, I have had it apart twice now and still the same result. I am hoping one of the inmates could show me a copy of the reassembley part of the procedure from the service dvd- as I am sure there is something not right here:cry :cry :cry :cry :cry

JRWooden 05-13-2010 04:03 AM

Well I would not have thought it ... but there appear to be several ways to screw this up..........:huh

http://i646.photobucket.com/albums/u...ch_plates1.jpg

http://i646.photobucket.com/albums/u...ch_plates2.jpg

http://i646.photobucket.com/albums/u...ch_plates3.jpg

and .... as I have ALWAYS come to expect, the manual (Rev. #4) leaves me wanting more information..........

Right off I see:

Pic - 1) I'm not QUITE sure what they mean when they say install... wide/narrow drivers ... maybe this would be more clear if had the parts in front of me...

Pic -1) note the sharp edge of the plates goes IN ... not sure why this matters, and would not guess that this is your problem, but since you are in there anyway ... I'd do it like they say...

Pic 2 & 3) Note that some "construction groups" have a segmented thrust washer which might or might not be replaced with a NON-segmented thrust washer, or might be discarded completely as it indicates the new construction status does not use it? :huh

It does give what I would call a "stack height" dimension well TWO of them actually ... 46.3 / 44.9mm so you could see if what you've got matches either of those.... If yours is thicker than 46.3 ... that would explain what you are seeing ........ If you discard the thrust washer it looks like the stack is supposed to be 1.4mmm thinner ....

Also ... note the F658GS has different shoulder washer bits......
I wonder if the spring preload is less on the 658?

Well I'm sure I've cleared everything up for you now eh? :rofl

Motorrad-Carlsbad 05-13-2010 10:25 AM

...just browsing through these threads and can only say that jrwooden is a great inmate.

CSL3 05-13-2010 10:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Motorrad-Carlsbad
...just browsing through these threads and can only say that jrwooden is a great inmate.

+1

rockhopper 05-13-2010 11:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRWooden
Well I would not have thought it ... but there appear to be several ways to screw this up..........:huh

and .... as I have ALWAYS come to expect, the manual (Rev. #4) leaves me wanting more information..........

Right off I see:

Well I'm sure I've cleared everything up for you now eh? :rofl



AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH:eek1 :eek1 :eek1 :eek1 :eek1 :eek1

We will have a look- many thanks

JRWooden 05-13-2010 11:26 AM

You're welcome Chris :lol3

I'd like some clarification myself on the segmented vs. non-segmented vs. "not there" thrust washer... if you find out anything let us know....

I think I smell a "clutch upgrade" for us F658GS owners i.e. using F800GS shoulder washers .... and to think that in the old days I used recycled crush washers from spark plugs under the springs to get a bit more preload! :evil

The Griz 05-13-2010 12:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Motorrad-Carlsbad
...just browsing through these threads and can only say that jrwooden is a great inmate.

+1

JRWooden 05-13-2010 02:29 PM

PS: Thanks for the kinds words folks....
Where's the "blush" smilie :D

GB 05-13-2010 02:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRWooden
PS: Thanks for the kinds words folks....
Where's the "blush" smilie :D

Use this one :shog

:lurk

David_S 05-14-2010 03:54 AM

off topic. JR how did you copy and paste from the DVD. I tried it yesterday as there wasn't any replies here yet but was unsuccessful with my attempts.

JRWooden 05-14-2010 04:21 AM

David:

I use a very old utility called "PrintKey 2000".
It allows you to capture a screen shot or a piece of the screen and then save it as an image file.

There may be a better way, but I just pulled up the page from the shop manual, did a clipped screen shot, saved as JPG then uploaded from there.

PrintKey is not supported any longer, but works fine on my Vista PC, it is no longer available for download from any sites I trust as it is so old, but PM me your e-mail address and I can send you a copy or there are newer "screen capture" utilities out there that do the same thing...


Motoriley 05-14-2010 06:59 AM

Print Screen
 
I use the print screen button in Vista and that "copies" my screen. I then can paste it into Photoshop and edit and save it.


Quote:

Originally Posted by JRWooden
David:

I use a very old utility called "PrintKey 2000".
It allows you to capture a screen shot or a piece of the screen and then save it as an image file.

There may be a better way, but I just pulled up the page from the shop manual, did a clipped screen shot, saved as JPG then uploaded from there.

PrintKey is not supported any longer, but works fine on my Vista PC, it is no longer available for download from any sites I trust as it is so old, but PM me your e-mail address and I can send you a copy or there are newer "screen capture" utilities out there that do the same thing...


JRWooden 05-14-2010 02:22 PM

That works well!

The one cool feature of PrintKey that I really like is that you can select the section of the screen you want to save or print so it's one less step.

sturgeon 05-14-2010 03:23 PM

grabbing screen shots
 
Vista (and presumably W7) also has a "snipping tool" that makes this a whole lot easier. No need for PrintScreen. It's as easy as 'drag to select area of screen, save as jpg'.

Another option is to print to PDF. I think there's freebies out that there will do this (I have Acrobat Pro for this, courtesy of ex-work).

(Perhaps snipping tool is not in Vista Home Basic, which is just XP with a prettier look anyways).

Firefight911 05-14-2010 03:50 PM

Where else can we bring our grubby, greasy, oily fingers to find out some information on a clutch issue only to find that we learn about computers?:ksteve:thumb:wave:wings

<levity> LEVITY!! Not for the thin of skin!!! This means relax, I'm having some fun!!:krusty

I never knew about the snipping. Just did it and BLAMO!!! Cool!!!
</levity>


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014