ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Parallel Universe (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=77)
-   -   Secondary Air System? (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=637370)

jscottyk 11-14-2010 11:44 PM

Secondary Air System?

Does anyone have a diagram of the complete F800 secondary air system? Or a specific explanation of how it works on the F800 motor? I understand the principal of adding oxygen to the exhaust gases to make the for a more complete "burn off" of emissions, but I do not understand where on the F800 motor this extra air is being introduced in the exhaust system.

Anyone?

johngil 11-14-2010 11:49 PM

There is no SAS on the 800?

Of course, I've been wrong before. I'm an electrician, not a mechanic.

Is a SAS needed w/ fuel injection and a computer?

Lots of beer today...
Just asking out loud.

jscottyk 11-14-2010 11:57 PM

Hmm?

Check out hose #4 in the diagram in this post. It's my understanding that it leads to one of the SAS valves.

The Griz 11-15-2010 05:52 AM

The F800GS does not have a secondary air injection system.

Quote:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seconda..._air_injection

Secondary air injection (commonly known as air injection, or colloquially smog pump) is a vehicle emissions control strategy introduced in 1966, wherein fresh air is injected into the exhaust stream to allow for a fuller combustion of exhaust gases. An implementation of the system has been trademarked by the name Air Injection Reactor (A.I.R.).