ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Airheads (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=85)
-   -   Enduralast Regulator Mounting (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=655092)

Ullr 01-27-2011 05:58 AM

Enduralast Regulator Mounting
 
I was reading a post recently about the pros and cons of mounting an Enduralast regulator close to the battery or up front close to the alternator. I swear I have searched and read every post with either regulator or Enduralast in it and can't find it. Am I imagining things? Anybody have a clue to what I'm talking about. I'd like to read it again.

boxermoose 01-27-2011 08:26 AM

What year/model airhead?

Mr. B. 01-27-2011 08:40 AM

Enduralast mounting
 
There is a writeup about it in a recent issue of Airmail. It was recomended by Oak to mount the regulator up front near the horn in the airstream. The reasoning was to ensure air moving over it and keeping the Red and yellow wires as short as possible. He recomended pulling power from the starter lead instead of the battery. I mounted the regulator on the side of the rear fender behind the battery sidecover on my R90 and works just fine.

DaveBall 01-27-2011 09:18 AM

I cooked on regulator by mounting it under the tank on my RT. Definitely not a good place as not enough air flow. I mounted the replacement to the frame tube behind the left side cover where it gets lots of air flow. That was 20,000 miles ago and still going strong. The mount that comes with the regulator.alternator package worked fine. If you go to their web site, it shows this exact mounting procedure. Check out the photos and instructionspage 12 and 13 of the installation guidelines on their web site.http://www.euromotoelectrics.com/v/v...ines_v7.5_.pdf

IMHO the Enduralast was one of the best electrical upgrades I have ever done on any of my airheads. I do not have any affiliation with Enduralast.

batoutoflahonda 01-27-2011 09:32 AM

I mounted mine up on the cross bar where the horn is. I had to move the horn over and I used electrical clamps with rubber on them to mount it. I can post more detailed pics if you wish. But there was a thread going around about this very subject. You may have to grind about a little off the inboard couple of fins to keep them from rubbing the fender.

Here it is:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=551272


http://i864.photobucket.com/albums/a...a/IMG_0657.jpg

One Less Harley 01-27-2011 09:45 AM

welded a tab on the frame,

http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s...S/IMG_0005.jpg

blaine.hale 01-27-2011 11:13 AM

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4107/...008901d0_z.jpg

Ullr 01-27-2011 02:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr. B. (Post 15043326)
There is a writeup about it in a recent issue of Airmail. It was recomended by Oak to mount the regulator up front near the horn in the airstream. The reasoning was to ensure air moving over it and keeping the Red and yellow wires as short as possible. He recomended pulling power from the starter lead instead of the battery. I mounted the regulator on the side of the rear fender behind the battery sidecover on my R90 and works just fine.

Thank you. That was exactly what I was looking for. It's in the Jan 2011 Airmail which I had but hadn't read yet. Well maybe I read it drunk and don't remember. I still swear I read it here first.

Mendodave 01-27-2011 02:31 PM

+1
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr. B. (Post 15043326)
There is a writeup about it in a recent issue of Airmail. It was recommended by Oak to mount the regulator up front near the horn in the airstream. The reasoning was to ensure air moving over it and keeping the Red and yellow wires as short as possible. He recommended pulling power from the starter lead instead of the battery.

glad to see I did it the way Oak said!

works nicely, lines are short.

Mendo

Pink Floyd 01-27-2011 10:21 PM

I used the stock battery tray tab and then some spare metal to make a bracket on the right. About 12,000 miles so far and it's been working great.

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_CfrZE7aJXUs/S2...0/DSCN2786.JPG

nowhereman 01-28-2011 04:18 AM

I mounted mine under the tank and it hasn't failed yet. I still don't think it gets enough cool air and will probably move it, but that was around 4 or 5 thousand miles ago and it still works fine. FWIW, I emailed this photo to EME and they said that the location was fine - I still don't have that good a feeling about it though...

http://nowhereman.smugmug.com/Other/...75_KViG4-M.jpg

DaveBall 01-28-2011 07:36 AM

nowhereman, Your picture under the tank looks exactly where I had mine on my RT. It eventually failed there. If you have a naked bike, it probably will be fine. But, to be safe, I would move it. Those things do get fairly warm.

photomd 01-28-2011 12:30 PM

I had mine on the plate the passanger peg of my R100Rs. It was located on the left side of the bike. It quit working within the first year, but that was probably from jumping it when the battery died. I've had the second one under the tank for 3 years and about 10K miles...however it's my winter bike. It's rarely ridden in the heat.

jdmetzger 03-16-2011 06:50 AM

Not to drag up the same subject, but aside from burning a regulator out mounting it under the tank of an RT, has anyone else run into issues with it under the tank of something like a PD? I'm just checking if we have more experience with it mounted there than 5k miles.

I just got my kit and I'll be honest - mounting it on my PD where the horn is looks, to me, hideous. That's not saying the GSPD is an especially attractive bike (I always saw it as more function over form) but having a big hunk of aluminum sitting just barely behind the fender isn't my preferred mounting spot. Anyone with a PD is already aware there is a lack of mounting location near the battery so that leaves me with the already mentioned points; where the original regulator went, or under the frame tube directly above the airbox. I'm not sure which of those two really offers a cooler location, though.

I'm happy to see EME is OK with those points, but I'd still rather not have to deal with a failure.

bgoodsoil 03-16-2011 07:49 AM

Mine's under the tank with 57k miles on it but I may have fried it. The voltage runs up to 16 volts when I rev it. I'm going to clean connections to see if it helps. I'm testing it today so I'll see what I come up with. If I did fry it obviously I'd be remounting it someplace else


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014