ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Parallel Universe (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=77)
-   -   HID Conversion? Sick of blowing low beams (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=708410)

Gangplank 07-19-2011 04:50 PM

HID Conversion? Sick of blowing low beams
 
I've gone through two low beam lights in 13,500 miles.

Considering a change to HID's. Anyone done it on the F800GS?
Heard good things about

DDM Tuning
Xentec

Any others out there worth considering?

TowPro 07-19-2011 05:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gangplank (Post 16433573)
I've gone through two low beam lights in 13,500 miles.

Considering a change to HID's. Anyone done it on the F800GS?
Heard good things about

DDM Tuning
Xentec

Any others out there worth considering?

The worse part is drilling that first hole in the back of the headlight. But if you decide to take them out I think the rear cover you have to drill is like $25.00

I run the Cheep ones, 35w, I can't recall if they are 4300 or 5000 K. Any higher is blue and attracts police.
mine are from vvme. I only run the low beam on the F800. Ballest is behind the battery, starter is velcroed to inside the plastic shrouds.

Major difference

jc9995 07-19-2011 05:07 PM

Haven't done it on my f650gs yet... But when I do I plan on getting it from theretrofitsolution.com. they are fantastic. I have done 2 retrofits on other vehicles, and have helped with another. They have been great help on all of then.

DRIVER 07-19-2011 05:59 PM

Rather expensive but this looks to be plug and play...

http://twalcomusa.com/twalcom-hid-headlight-kit-f800gs.html

C5! 07-19-2011 06:14 PM

DDM beware
 
I've got the DDM, 50W kit.
installed it on the high beam, never worked, gives a lamp error and no light. just blinking when switched on. But if I connect it directly to the battery it works fine. sent a zillion emails to the support staff, called them as well. they told me to get the error eliminator (I don't remember the exact name. they come in pairs. I bought them but the problem persists. emailed them again and called, and no way to have an answer. obviously I had to reinstall the original halogen and tape the hole in the cover.
As apparently there is no way to have a refund. I am thinking of installing it through a relay. but I am seriously upset by the lack of seriousness of this provider.

Crash-n-Skid 07-19-2011 06:41 PM

http://www.1offmotorsports.com/
 
I used http://www.1offmotorsports.com/ 6000K 55 watt kit to change out just the high beam. Finding a spot to mount the ballast was the hardest part. Takes about 15 seconds for the light to warm all the way up. 1offmotor sells the canceller with the light so you don't get a bulb error. They responded to questions quickly. Rode some country roads where they weren't any street lights this past weekend and was really glad to have the extra light. Its about $89 and has the slim ballast which you'll want. I think 6000K is good. Gives a good white light.

ebrabaek 07-19-2011 07:02 PM

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=624794

Works awesome......:thumb:thumb

Erling

ScottDill 07-19-2011 07:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by C5! (Post 16434176)
I've got the DDM, 50W kit.
installed it on the high beam, never worked, gives a lamp error and no light. just blinking when switched on. But if I connect it directly to the battery it works fine. sent a zillion emails to the support staff, called them as well. they told me to get the error eliminator (I don't remember the exact name. they come in pairs. I bought them but the problem persists. emailed them again and called, and no way to have an answer. obviously I had to reinstall the original halogen and tape the hole in the cover.
As apparently there is no way to have a refund. I am thinking of installing it through a relay. but I am seriously upset by the lack of seriousness of this provider.

Did you hook in a relay?

Mike.C 07-19-2011 08:01 PM

We have installed units in the low beam of our F798's from Futurevision HID, he is an inmate and runs a vendor thread.

He supplies a special unit configured for the CANBUS that does not give error messages. No complaints and he has always given great service. We did our Guzzis with his units some years ago and they are still going strong .

I looked into intslalling his Projector Conversion as it would be a far better beam pattern than relying on the OEM reflector, but unfortunately it won't fit. Having said that the beam pattern is quite acceptable with his units.

Camel ADV 07-19-2011 09:51 PM

Have run an AutoLoc HID system for about a year with no issues. Would definitely recommend it.

mapuda 07-19-2011 10:26 PM

:thumb

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crash-n-Skid (Post 16434390)
I used http://www.1offmotorsports.com/ 6000K 55 watt kit.

I put mine in the low beam. I have had it installed for over a year with zero defects. Not expensive and it works. They also have a discount for ADVRiders in vendors.

reinerka 07-20-2011 09:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by C5! (Post 16434176)
I've got the DDM, 50W kit.
installed it on the high beam, never worked, gives a lamp error and no light. just blinking when switched on. But if I connect it directly to the battery it works fine. sent a zillion emails to the support staff, called them as well. they told me to get the error eliminator (I don't remember the exact name. they come in pairs. I bought them but the problem persists. emailed them again and called, and no way to have an answer. obviously I had to reinstall the original halogen and tape the hole in the cover.
As apparently there is no way to have a refund. I am thinking of installing it through a relay. but I am seriously upset by the lack of seriousness of this provider.

Strange, I use the DDM (35W) on both low and high beam and it works fine. I sometimes get a problem with the fault coming on but that is due to me doing stupid things :evil.

Reiner

Miikka 07-20-2011 10:32 AM

1 Attachment(s)
I replaced my low beam with www.futurevisionhid.com 's 35W HID H7 kit (canbus model)
and I've had zero problems with it.
After that my high beam seemed like a candle in the wind...so I replaced that with
a 50W HID no-name-kit from ebay. (60$) Takes quite a bit to warm up to full brightness
but lights up the road pretty good!
Not a single error/fault message. :freaky
No issues finding a spot for ballasts with Mirage screen:



-m

TowPro 07-20-2011 10:41 AM

Reading this about the errors, I wonder if the cause is the 50W HID require to much start-up current?
I have the 35w with digital ballast and never had a problem.
Before installing it I did a test with a meter I have that has a memory. It peaked at around 4A draw when first starting the bulb and around 3A running.

A 50W incandescent bulb will draw 4.16A # 12V (P=IxE)

So my starting current of 4A is around what the normal bulb uses in power.
I don't know what current the can-bus uses as a threshold for over-current, but I bet the initial start-up current of the 50W HID is higher then that threshold on some of these lights 50w lights.

Believe me when I say the 35W HID emits enough light :evil.

C5! 07-20-2011 04:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by scodill (Post 16434616)
Did you hook in a relay?

no yet. Just ordered one from FutureVision HID
http://www.futurevisionhid.com/hid-r...t-harness.html
these guys really have a tremendous support, all the time they invested answering all my questions and all this for a $20 sale ! and an added 15% advrider discount !! hats off.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014