ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Battle scooters (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Yamaha Vino 125? (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=713995)

Jim Moore 08-07-2011 10:28 AM

Yamaha Vino 125?

Hey, my local bike shop is selling 2009 Vino 125s for $1995. That seems like a pretty good price. Anybody have one and care to comment on it? What's the difference between it and the Zuma?

Thanks,

LarryRickenbacker 08-07-2011 02:58 PM

OK on good roads

Howdy,

I've two years experience on scooters, so I'm no expert. I was close to making the Vino 125 my first scooter a few years ago. Instead yours truly opted for a scoot with 12 inch wheels. The Vino 125 has 10-inch wheels, so at speeds over 35 mph, it'll start to feel twitchy, less stable. That's due to the effect of Gyroscopic forces.

If you only need this scoot for 'round the neighborhood or on a college campus, it's probably a good choice. Still, with Yamaha also offering the Zuma 125 (12 inch tires), I'd look into the Zuma 125 instead-assuming you plan to commute and run errands on busy streets and spend a good bit of time over 35 mph. 12-inch tires are a bit more confidance inspiring at speed. My current scoot is the Honda Sh150i, which has 16-inch tires, btw.

Hypochondrius 08-07-2011 03:08 PM

The Zuma's MSRP is nearly twice what he might get the Vino for. I don't think 2" worth of tire is worth 1.5k.

tbonestone 08-07-2011 03:22 PM

As a former salesman at a scooter-only dealership. We took in a Vino 125 for an elderly couple. I rode it, here are my plusses: It is super low to the ground based on seat height so if you're vertically challenged it's nice. Parts and service locations are extremely abundant should something arise that's beyond your abilities.