ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Thumpers (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   More power from KTM Adventure (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=75132)

Velocibiker 04-08-2005 08:03 AM

More power from KTM Adventure
 
Not more HP, more VOLTS! :evil

Max output for my Adventure is 200W. A GS 650 pumps out 400W(!!!!)

The stator is already wound up as much as it's going to go. Anybody know of a way to get more juice flowing? I'd like at least another 100W.


Then I could stop thinking about LED retrofitting and HID lighting....

ChrisC 04-08-2005 08:34 AM

http://www.electadv.com/winco/winc08.gif :wink:

Velocibiker 04-08-2005 08:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChrisC

:rofl :rofl

Already tried that!!! Doesn't work too well on the single track :D

I was thinking I might strap a Honda generator to the rear rack, but it's too noisy.

Jim Bud 04-08-2005 09:18 AM

Bicycle generator rubbing against the wheel??? :D

creeper 04-08-2005 09:34 AM

You are screwed Velo... no room for more windings. What you want to power up anyway... yer' house? :lol3

AusieRob 04-08-2005 10:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Velocibiker
Not more HP, more VOLTS! :evil

Max output for my Adventure is 200W. A GS 650 pumps out 400W(!!!!)

The stator is already wound up as much as it's going to go. Anybody know of a way to get more juice flowing? I'd like at least another 100W.
Then I could stop thinking about LED retrofitting and HID lighting....

Well you can get around a 25% increase in electrical efficiency by replacing the stator wiring with these new high temp super conductors. You'd have to install a small cryogenic plant on the back to keep the stator cold. And I mean cold...:vardy

I'm guessing, but I think you'd have to step up the main jet just a couple given the colder operating conditions :D

Oh yeah, and don't drop the bike. The engine cases are likley to shatter like glass. Just awarning

creeper 04-08-2005 10:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AusieRob
Well you can get around a 25% increase in electrical efficiency by replacing the stator wiring with these new high temp super conductors. You'd have to install a small cryogenic plant on the back to keep the stator cold. And I mean cold...:vardy

I'm guessing, but I think you'd have to step up the main jet just a couple given the colder operating conditions :D

What we talkin' here?... 'bout $20... $30 bucks? :dunno :evil

AusieRob 04-08-2005 10:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by creeper
What we talkin' here?... 'bout $20... $30 bucks? :dunno :evil

Yeah about that.
Well, that's after the Stanford Uni research grant and a couple of Military development grants.
Your out of pocket? around $30

creeper 04-08-2005 10:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AusieRob
Yeah about that.
Well, that's after the Stanford Uni research grant and a couple of Military development grants.
Your out of pocket? around $30

Can't get 'er down to $25 huh? :dunno

Buckster 04-08-2005 10:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Velocibiker
Not more HP, more VOLTS! :evil

Max output for my Adventure is 200W. A GS 650 pumps out 400W(!!!!)

The stator is already wound up as much as it's going to go. Anybody know of a way to get more juice flowing? I'd like at least another 100W.


Then I could stop thinking about LED retrofitting and HID lighting....

Acouple of small wind generators under the fairing and a solar panel should get you 30 to 40w, after that you are on your own.

Velocibiker 04-12-2005 09:17 AM

Geez......You guys just trying to up your post counts?

I was really hoping for some actual ideas. A serious answer to a valid question.

I asked a similar question when my bike was new and basically there were no options. Now, 3 years or so later, I was hoping some of you might have heard to seen something new. Obviously not.

Loadedagain 04-12-2005 09:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Velocibiker
Geez......You guys just trying to up your post counts?

:wave

AusieRob 04-12-2005 09:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Velocibiker
Geez......You guys just trying to up your post counts?
I was really hoping for some actual ideas. A serious answer to a valid question.

I asked a similar question when my bike was new and basically there were no options. Now, 3 years or so later, I was hoping some of you might have heard to seen something new. Obviously not.

As far as we know, not one is making an aftermarket item with higher output.

- You could try hand winding the coils. Careful selection of conductor size and precision winding may get a few more mAs out of it.
- Redesign the whole thing, closer tolerances, highest quality components, again some improvement to output.
- Change the elect starter for a second generator. Mod the gear drive to provide constant drive to the gen. That'd be good for a few extra volts...

But basically you are trying to break the law. The law of diminishing returns!

Mate, if there was a serious answer to your valid question you would have gotten it along with the 90% BS (is that the correct ratio?) and stuff.
Enjoy it, it all good :nod...

potatoho 04-12-2005 09:58 AM

I thought you could just use stronger magnets on the flywheel :dunno

http://ktmtalk.com/index.php?showtop...26&hl=flywheel

http://www.trailtech.net/flywheel_1.htm

"All Trail Tech flywheels have high strength magnets which boost the stator output by 30-50%."

AusieRob 04-12-2005 12:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by potatoho
I thought you could just use stronger magnets on the flywheel :dunno

http://ktmtalk.com/index.php?showtop...26&hl=flywheel

http://www.trailtech.net/flywheel_1.htm

"All Trail Tech flywheels have high strength magnets which boost the stator output by 30-50%."

Ok, Yes that is what is meant by better quality components but up to 50% by magnet alone, errr hard to imagine, very hard. I think we need to read the whole quote "can boost the output of your lighting coils up to 30%-50% (when combined with a rewound stator)" Arr... Yes!! now that'll work....

But these flywheels are for RFS engines? I'm out of my depth now. Are RFS's the same as LC4's in the electrical part? And do the RFS engines have the same stock power output (as fully wound) as the LC4 Adv engines? ie so the increase will be the same for the LC4 as the RFS.

:ear


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014