ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   2 smokers (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=84)
-   -   2 stroke electrics (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=767677)

Hunsta 02-26-2012 12:23 AM

2 stroke electrics
 
OK this may sound like a stupid question, but for someone who`s as auto electrically retarded as me, its one I have to ask.
Ive got a DT250 project going and Im trying to thin out the wiring down to a bare minimum. Seeing that the bike has no battery or lights to run, do I need have the voltage regulator hooked up?
Basicly all I can see is that theres wiring from the CDI to the coil and into the motor. Ive disconnected everything else that just ran to the head of the wiring loom that would have powered the lights and such. I turned the bike over an there was still spark to the plug.
So......am I right to proceed?
Cheers
Craig

Shocktower 02-26-2012 01:38 AM

You don't need a battery if your not running lights the rectifier I think IIRC is battery charging/lights

Hunsta 02-26-2012 04:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hunsta (Post 18075081)
Seeing that the bike has no battery or lights to run, do I need have the voltage regulator hooked up?



Quote:

Originally Posted by Shocktower (Post 18075215)
You don't need a battery if your not running lights the rectifier I think IIRC is battery charging/lights

I assume thats a no to my question.:scratch

Euromad 02-26-2012 06:10 AM

I second the no need for a voltage regulator.

stainlesscycle 02-26-2012 06:30 AM

stator to cdi to coil. nothing else is needed.

Duck_Pilot 02-26-2012 12:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stainlesscycle (Post 18075985)
stator to cdi to coil. nothing else is needed.

Well..........ya MIGHT wanna have a kill-switch in there someplace.......... :D

stainlesscycle 02-26-2012 02:17 PM

hah, yeah. maybe.. :D

tHEtREV 02-26-2012 04:32 PM

Well if it is going to stuff something, it would have stuffed it by now because I ran it with only the bare essentials the whole time I had it.:D

I only started putting the full wiring harness in just after the last time I rode it.

PSchrauber 02-26-2012 04:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Duck_Pilot (Post 18078196)
Well..........ya MIGHT wanna have a kill-switch in there someplace.......... :D

You can mount a decompression valve, works too as a kill switch.
Pull lever for decompression then the engine should stall after two three spins.

If not actuate decompression lever, while holding rear brake and slip clutch.

(just for purists I know, ... )

340hp 02-26-2012 08:05 PM

It's all OK.

Ground the black with white stripe wire from the CDI for a kill switch.

P 0 P E Y E 02-26-2012 08:20 PM

Magneto ignition on your bike. No regulator or rectifier needed for engine to run.

But...if it ain't broke, don't fix it.

Stromius 02-26-2012 08:43 PM

Just run the black wire from the engine/stator to either a kill switch, then coil or straight to the coil.

Hunsta 02-27-2012 01:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tHEtREV (Post 18079722)
Well if it is going to stuff something, it would have stuffed it by now because I ran it with only the bare essentials the whole time I had it.:D

Yeah all good. Just wanted to thin it out a little.

Quote:

Originally Posted by stainlesscycle (Post 18075985)
stator to cdi to coil. nothing else is needed.

Great thats the info I needed.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Duck_Pilot (Post 18078196)
Well..........ya MIGHT wanna have a kill-switch in there someplace.......... :D

I thought the way I ride would take care of that...........................Oh you mean a switch to turn the motor off.:lol3

Thanks for the help guys.
Cheers
Craig


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014