ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   2 smokers (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=84)
-   -   Early '90s WR250 Yamaha (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=794949)

third eye 05-28-2012 10:14 PM

Early '90s WR250 Yamaha

OK, tell me about your two stroke version of this bike. I just bought a '93 version with low time on it. Bike rips. Have you changed anything? What do you recommend???

Reino 05-29-2012 03:26 AM

you should re-title your thread like, wr250 2t info or something like that. I am a noob on this form as well, i had to learn the hard way.

Unfortunately i cant help, i own a ktm 250sx and a 1983 tt600 and i have never seen a wr250 in person.

Best of luck from a fellow noob :D

GarageRat 05-29-2012 09:38 AM

I had a '92-great bike! To make the bike more tractable for eastern (NY, PA, NJ) enduros & scrambles, I swapped out the aluminum clutch plates for steel (Yamaha replacement parts), this added inertia was noticeable, though i also added a 12 OZ. flywheel, which made the power deliver just electric. It was nearly impossible to stall the bike and perfect for gnarly, tight root infested trails. Yamaha also had an intake spacer that broadened the power delivery. In all, my changes made the bike trialsy, though reliable and easy to ride in enduros. Other more personal changes included a seat foam (taller) kit and pro-taper bars.

With the mods removed, the bike was an able mx'er.

third eye 05-29-2012 05:54 PM

thanks for the info. I'm reading how changing the Mikuni carb out for a Keihin PWK carb transforms the bike. Low speed throttle is kinda iffy but the mid to upper range, the bike is a rocket. Having more fun on it than my YZ400F I used to have

tHEtREV 05-29-2012 07:12 PM

I had a 98 for awhile (the same as the US 97model), but only kept it for a few months.

Power was just a bit much and it was a bit loud for my liking.