ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Parallel Universe (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=77)
-   -   F800GS VS Triumph Tiger 800XC (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=812781)

deeznuts 07-29-2012 03:50 PM

F800GS VS Triumph Tiger 800XC

I am new to this whole thing and looking to get my first bike. I have been in love with the 800GS and have found my self wanting a Tiger 800XC.
Which bike is cheaper and costs less to maintain. I am also curious about accessories and cost of those as well.
I would really like to hear the pros and cons to both bike from experts like you all.........:rofl

ebrabaek 07-29-2012 04:30 PM

In stead of posting this.... for the ummmmmm.... many'th time.... Use the search function and you will discover this have been covered Maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaany times..... Thanks...

Ducksbane 07-29-2012 04:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by deeznuts (Post 19240728)
I am new to this whole thing and looking to get my first bike. I have been in love with the 800GS and have found my self wanting a Tiger 800XC.
Which bike is cheaper and costs less to maintain. I am also curious about accessories and cost of those as well.
I would really like to hear the pros and cons to both bike from experts like you all.........:rofl

Please... don't start this again !:rofl

Like all bikes it depends on what the rider needs and wants. Personally I just don't get on with the Tiger XC at all. I much prefer the engine in the GS. The Tiger has more top end, but only over 8,000 RPM, with a few simple mods the GS has a lot better pull down low, and the gear ratios (too close on the GS) are ridiculous on the Tiger with too tall a first gear and too low a top gear. The GS has better fuel economy, more offroad orientated geometry, more farkles, more ground clearance and a bolt on subframe. Supposedly the 800GS is cheaper to service as the Triumph has 50% more valves and spark plugs and it's harder to get at them.