ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Parallel Universe (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=77)
-   -   Squadron Adventure Bike Kit for F800GS (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=817108)

Andres Tamez 08-13-2012 10:35 AM

Squadron Adventure Bike Kit for F800GS
 
Hi Everyone!!

I'm interested in buying the Squadron Adventure Bike Kit for my 2012 F800 Trophy, any of you hace experience on installing them or any suggestions on how to install them?

http://www.bajadesigns.com/images/it...rge/660057.jpg

This is the link to the light kit
http://www.bajadesigns.com/ProductDe...nture-Bike-Kit

Thanks!

Andres Tamez 11-08-2012 08:31 AM

I already bought them and here are the pics, I just have one word to describe them.....WOW!!!!

http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphoto...88898849_n.jpg
http://sphotos-d.ak.fbcdn.net/hphoto...42864395_n.jpg
http://sphotos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphoto...05787923_n.jpg
http://sphotos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphoto...33086272_n.jpg

Baja Designs 11-08-2012 08:43 AM

Looks awesome glad your enjoying them :D

lawe 11-08-2012 08:55 AM

Looks like a great kit! But are they not blocking you indicators?

CheckerdD 11-08-2012 09:11 AM

My guess is they will be the first thing to break when your "Adventure" leads to an off pavement drop. Dave

Andres Tamez 11-08-2012 09:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lawe (Post 19999280)
Looks like a great kit! But are they not blocking you indicators?

Yes, just a little bit but the most important ones are the rear ones ;)

runnin4melife 11-08-2012 05:18 PM

You can relocate them adjacent to your headlight, I like them. I have the Denali D2s and like them but am curious how many lumens/beam focus and distance you get with these?

Andres Tamez 11-09-2012 08:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by runnin4melife (Post 20002811)
You can relocate them adjacent to your headlight, I like them. I have the Denali D2s and like them but am curious how many lumens/beam focus and distance you get with these?

Each one has 3600 Lumens, the distance i dont know but its a lot more than the original lights!

JGoody 11-09-2012 08:59 AM

Why not put them on top of the "plate" instead of hanging down -- then they will not interfere with the turn signals. It would take about 5 minutes to try it -- looks like the brackets that the lights fit it might need reversing too.

Pomo 11-09-2012 09:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CheckerdD (Post 19999408)
My guess is they will be the first thing to break when your "Adventure" leads to an off pavement drop. Dave

I've spiked my bike on many occasions, deep mud/sand, downhill drop onto big piles of rocks, low sides (etc) and I've never broken the stock indicators (just bent the damn shift lever a few times). I don't see how you'd break the squadrons since they're about the same size in about the same location, unless the mounting bracket snapped or something.

Loutre 11-09-2012 09:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pomo (Post 20007202)
I've spiked my bike on many occasions, deep mud/sand, downhill drop onto big piles of rocks, low sides (etc) and I've never broken the stock indicators (just bent the damn shift lever a few times). I don't see how you'd break the squadrons since they're about the same size in about the same location, unless the mounting bracket snapped or something.

It's true that the LED are in a great location for drops. They are smaller than the 'sidetank' thingy and aren't exposed.
LED rocks :o)

grndzr0 11-10-2012 10:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pomo (Post 20007202)
I've spiked my bike on many occasions, deep mud/sand, downhill drop onto big piles of rocks, low sides (etc) and I've never broken the stock indicators (just bent the damn shift lever a few times). I don't see how you'd break the squadrons since they're about the same size in about the same location, unless the mounting bracket snapped or something.


I have broken 2 indicator lenses. (I broke one, my wife broke one.) Fortunately they are not hard mounted to the plastic, and the whole assembly kind pops out in the front. You can the take the screw out and reinsert the front tab of the indicator. So that is nice.

I personally would not mount the lights there, as they are mounted to the plastic up front which is not super sturdy.

I would go something a little more solid like a crash bar. Just me though

Ryan

epicxcrider 11-12-2012 07:07 AM

I've mounted my lights there, lots of drops and one high speed low side later there are no problems

PatrickM 11-15-2012 11:15 PM

Holy crap are those pricey! I do like the lumens, but at nearly $700 a pair, hitting a rock would weigh heavily if I when going off road.

Tor 11-16-2012 07:37 AM

Too pricey.

Buy these and do the wiring yourself + mounting plate.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014