ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   The Garage (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   Noob 4 cyl carb tuning (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=825621)

sailah 09-12-2012 05:49 AM

Noob 4 cyl carb tuning help

So I have built 2 frankenbikes at this point, first one is a 2004 Yamaha FZ1. Running stock motor with Ivans Performance pod filters and the jetting kit for these pods. It has the stock headers with EXUP valve intact and then a Sailah Customz:D midpipe to a Arrow exhaust can.

http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d1...5-19150524.jpg

The second bike is a 1997 CBR. I kept the stock airbox, stock filter. I built the headers out of slightly smaller OD tubing, same length pretty much, into a midpipe and then out a carbon Arrow exhaust.

http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d1...9-10180143.jpg

The FZ1 I have been riding for 2 years now. I always felt it had a flat spot off idle but honestly it had so much power that I never really bothered to change anything. A buddy who also had an FZ1 mentioned he thought the bike was down on power so it got me thinking. I set up Ivans kit exactly how he described it, settings and all.

The CBR went on her maiden voyage last night and I couldn't believe how much snappier it was than the FZ1. Yes it is a lot lighter but the motor was much more peppy and just seemed much more willing to pull harder at all throttle settings. More eager if you will. Maybe that's a function of the motor vs jetting but regardless I am interested to learn more about carb tuning.

I can take carbs apart, I can clean them, I know where the various components are located and what their names are. But I still have a very fuzzy understanding of how they interact, and also how to interpret their behavior. Like that bog on the FZ1. I know that's not a main jet problem, but how do I know if I need to go up or down or change the mixture, slow speed jet??:lol3 See what I mean? Noob here.