ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   GS Boxers (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Where did you mount your Navigator IV.... (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=825901)

twray 09-13-2012 06:19 AM

Where did you mount your Navigator IV....
 
Got my promo Navigator IV for my new GSA and would like some suggestions on where to mount it. Do I need to get the extra mounting bar, or just mount it to existing bars?

Thanks in advance...

joon1911 09-13-2012 06:54 AM

My dealer mounted the unit for me when I picked up the bike. Mind you, I didn't ask them to but really appreciate it because looking at the mounting, it looks like it would take an hour or two. The additional mounting bar looks like you need to remove the speedo cluster.

I moved mine to to right end of the extra mounting bar and it still obscured some of the tach, which annoys me coming from sport bikes, but I've found with the GS that it's not really that big a deal.

'05Train 09-13-2012 08:48 AM

I have a Harley Roadtech (Zumo 665) in the Touratech mount on the windshield crossbar. Excellent visibility there.

Thunder Pig 09-13-2012 12:04 PM

You don't need to but it is a good place for it. High and in the middle. Easy to glance at while watching where your going. I flipped the clamp on the back of the unit to mount it a little higher and not cover the tach as much. Don't look at tach anyway so not a problem. You don't have to pull instruments to mount the bar but it is so easy that I would do it as it does make it easier. Took maybe 30 minutes to do. Easy.

oalvarez 12-31-2012 06:58 PM

mounted mine to the optional BMW mounting bar and respective clamp. removed the headlight/instrument cluster to facilitate getting to the mounting screws. that part was easy. attached the clamp, then the GPS bracket/housing, but the mounting screws seemed almost too long, so washers to the rescue (will buy shorter screws, proper lock nuts). then i wasn't satisfied with how it sat (a bit low for my liking) so i flipped the mount (as described above) upside down but it didn't seem to fit (would hit the GSA windscreen bar), so back to the original position it went. i like the fact that there is a dedicated mounting bar for it but you'd think for the added pieces and expense that it would be perfect, and i don't think it is. i will say that it does offer a very clean look and puts the GPS just below eye level.

http://i93.photobucket.com/albums/l7...zjr/file-1.jpg

lhendrik 01-01-2013 09:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by oalvarez (Post 20367948)
mounted mine to the optional BMW mounting bar and respective clamp. removed the headlight/instrument cluster to facilitate getting to the mounting screws. that part was easy. attached the clamp, then the GPS bracket/housing, but the mounting screws seemed almost too long, so washers to the rescue (will buy shorter screws, proper lock nuts). then i wasn't satisfied with how it sat (a bit low for my liking) so i flipped the mount (as described above) upside down but it didn't seem to fit (would hit the GSA windscreen bar), so back to the original position it went. i like the fact that there is a dedicated mounting bar for it but you'd think for the added pieces and expense that it would be perfect, and i don't think it is. i will say that it does offer a very clean look and puts the GPS just below eye level.

http://i93.photobucket.com/albums/l7...zjr/file-1.jpg

This looks very neat and clean and secure, but I opted to raise my mounting up higher using Touratech extension arms with their mount because I wanted the Zumo right in my line of sight, and not blocking the instruments. Line of sight was important to me because I tend to stare at the GPS when lost (often) and have crashed horribly doing so. While my mounting looks like it would be intrusive in line of sight, in use it works fine. Off road it would obscure the area right in front of my front wheel, but it is fine for zooming along paved roads which is how I tend to use my GSA....

GSAragazzi 01-01-2013 11:04 AM

Here's my setup. I sold the BMW mount that came with the Nav IV and purchased a Touratech locking mount and adapter. I like it bc I can also mount my RD on top.
I used zip ties to run the cables and velcro to hold the RD in place (plus the flimsy metal mount).
The big plus of the Touratech (other than it locks) its that -in combination- with the adapter mount) brings the GPS closer to you so there is no far reaching when you need to press a key while on the go. Its still on the firld of view but it is not obtrusive.



http://i1121.photobucket.com/albums/...ps63ae38c2.jpg

http://i1121.photobucket.com/albums/...ps6be15bce.jpg

http://i1121.photobucket.com/albums/...ps1e3b6540.jpg

BigDave75 01-01-2013 02:04 PM

Put mine up high:

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x...860eb63428.jpg


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014