ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   GS Boxers (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Touratech handguards....compatable with throttlemeister? (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=832213)

jackhammer50 10-06-2012 04:57 PM

Touratech handguards....compatable with throttlemeister?
 
Does anyone know is the Touratech handguards work with the Throttlemeister units?

Or for that matter any handguards that work with the Throttlemeister.

Hair 10-07-2012 03:54 AM

I am not going to directly answer your question. But I can give you some things to think about.
The throttlemeister uses a long bolt to hold everything in place. If you want to add brush guards all you have to do is to get a longer bolt. And a bushing that will fit over your bolt and have the same OD as the bolt head. Then put washers on each side of your brush guard and you should be golden.

However that might not be the cast. Some brush guards come stright forward from that bolt. Some curve in, which makes it hard to clear the edge of the throttle meister. In this case you need a longer bushing or strighter brush guards. The bushing can get so long that it doesn't work. So that is where the trade off is.

Oh and always use blue locktight on those bolts.

LoFlow 10-07-2012 10:19 AM

Well, sort of. I remade the spacer/sleeve and added a flange for the guard to seat against. A longer bolt is needed as stated already. A little trial and error to get the correct spacing. Works good once the spacing is correct.

http://loflow.smugmug.com/Other/Stuf...DSC01478-L.jpg

trc.rhubarb 10-07-2012 03:44 PM

I have some generic throttle lock that looks like a Kaoko knock off.
The Touratech came with new bolts and inserts.

They installed in about 10m with no issues whatsoever.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014