ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Airheads (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=85)
-   -   Rocker Arm Shim (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=833241)

some_guy 10-10-2012 03:19 PM

Rocker Arm Shim
 
So I did a valve adjustment last weekend on my 95 R100RT and noticed that one of my rocker arms had some vertical play. If I remember right this is probably what is causing that head to be noisy and could potentially trash the rocker arms or worse if the needle bearings come apart...anyone have any experience with this? How long can I ignore it? There were 2 shims already in place (part 11 below). Do you add shims or try to keep the number of shims low?

http://www.maxbmwmotorcycles.com/fic...png?v=08102012

Thanks!

JonnyCash 10-10-2012 03:47 PM

They're available in different thicknesses, so instead of adding to the total number, you could just get thicker ones. That said, I cant see why it would really matter how you make up the thickness, but I would personally go for the least number of shims necessary to get end float where you want it.

supershaft 10-10-2012 07:57 PM

The needle bearing cages still break with no play there. I think it helps to have zero play but I know for sure that it doesn't stop needle bearing cages from breaking. You can adjust the play out exactly like you do on the earlier setups. You don't need any shims. I have adjusted them by squeezing in the blocks hundreds of times as have a number of other mechanics I know with no problems whatsoever. Besides, the shims don't come in enough sizes to get the end play as perfect as I like to get them. I use a modified Vise Grip C clamp. IMO it is THE best way to get the adjustment down to a gnat's ass.

Wirespokes 10-10-2012 09:44 PM

I tried that approach using a C clamp. However it loosened back up and added a shim instead.

supershaft 10-10-2012 10:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wirespokes (Post 19792920)
I tried that approach using a C clamp. However it loosened back up and added a shim instead.

Anything is possible. I don't know how sometimes but . . . .

bmweuro 10-10-2012 11:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wirespokes (Post 19792920)
I tried that approach using a C clamp. However it loosened back up and added a shim instead.

A "C" clamp does not work with the late style rocker arms as the end blocks are located into the head and there is no movement. Stick a feeler gauge between the rocker block and rocker arm to figure out how much play you have. Take that number plus the thickness of the shims that are already there to figure out what combination of shims you need. I agree- the fewer the better/easier

Bill Harris 10-11-2012 04:53 AM

^^^ yep, what Chris sez ^^^

100RT 10-11-2012 08:21 AM

I believe the shims come in about 5 different sizes.

bmweuro 10-11-2012 08:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 100RT (Post 19794966)
I believe the shims come in about 5 different sizes.

You are correct
0.20mm
0.25mm
0.30mm
0.35mm
0.50mm

I noticed the price on the 0.35 is over 3.00 while the rest are 73 cents. Buy 73 cent ones now before BMW raises the price to $3.57. This will happen when they have to reorder them from BMW AG.

naginalf 10-11-2012 08:42 AM

Is'nt that .20mm, .30mm, etc.?

bmweuro 10-11-2012 08:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by naginalf (Post 19795108)
Is'nt that .20mm, .30mm, etc.?

You are correct.

some_guy 10-11-2012 08:56 AM

Yup. Gonna order some today.

Stagehand 10-11-2012 09:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bmweuro (Post 19795060)
You are correct
0.20mm
0.25mm
0.30mm
0.35mm
0.50mm

I noticed the price on the 0.35 is over 3.00 while the rest are 73 cents. Buy 73 cent ones now before BMW raises the price to $3.57. This will happen when they have to reorder them from BMW AG.

THey've been priced that way for over a year. I did this like, january before last and was like wtf, lol $3.75?

adventure950 10-11-2012 01:51 PM

You can always fit one piece rocker gear where their is no play http://www.motoren-israel.com/produc...s--5--90S.html less any taxes they would work out well under euro 200 to those in the states. They still need shimmed once on initial set up ( you can do this off the bike on the workbench but nothing can move so are set for a very very long time - also very neat.http://i1244.photobucket.com/albums/.../P10100742.jpg

supershaft 10-11-2012 02:08 PM

Well, I guess all these years I have been dreaming. No, not really. A C clamp DOES work with the late model setup. It works better than shimming them. I have worked with quite a few that adjust them the old school way. It's easier, faster, cheaper, and better. The 'better' part sells me. Go ahead and shim them if you want, I am just trying to help some do a better job.

That MI setup looks like a solution to a problem that doesn't exist. One thing I have noticed in life: Problems are easy to fix when you make them up to start with.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014