ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   2 smokers (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=84)
-   -   stroke twin issue (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=833313)

kellymac530 10-10-2012 08:41 PM

stroke twin issue

I know this NOT a jet ski site but many of you are engine gurus no matter what it is. I am having NO success on any PWC sites and I can not figure this out.

First off, I am a decent mechanic, not a pro trained tech, but the guy who everyone of my buddies call to figure something engine out. I have a full shop in my garage, bike lift, 6 hp 60 gal Air Comp, air tools, presses, pullers, TIG 250 Lincoln welder....you get the point. I am a do it myselfer and have built many cars and bikes and boats from the chassis up. No way near bragging here but just letting youknow that I am not a carpet salesman playing with tools, I work with my hands daily and am somewhat capable.

That said I am stumped big time. I have raced Jet Skiis and built quite a few of my own and A buddy had me rebuild his Sea Doo a couple years ago and it ran better than ever, new crank, bore, piston & ring kit...yada yada. So another friend asked to trade me a beat up tired BMW R80GS for my labor and parts to rebuild his 550 Jet Ski. No problem. I find out it does run but not well and it dies after running for a few minutes and wont start for an hour or so.

I take the deal. After stripping it down I find a worn thru spot in the water box, I assume that is the stalling problem since that is a common issue. I order a rebuilt crank, gasket kit, oversize piston N ring kit {after having the bores checked to see what size I need} and have the barrels bored, all from a reputable Jet Ski racing supplier. I clean everything carefully, and rebuild it all. Jet Ski engines could not be easier, crankcase splits down the center, crank drops in with a seal on each end and drop the barrels over bthe pistons.