ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Layin' down tracks (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Garmin SP 2610 earphone connection (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=836111)

Three Dawg 10-23-2012 07:28 AM

Garmin SP 2610 earphone connection
 
I've recently fitted a Garmin 2610 Street Pilot to my GS. Don't laugh, I like it, and it was very cheap! Can't read the notes in the top of my tankbag any more so I just bang the route into the GPS and away I go- don't need it to do any thinking for me...

Anyway, I also bought an earpiece for it which has a 2.5mm stereo jack into a single helmet speaker, plugged it in and unfortunately it doesn't work. Tried it with the (stereo) earphones off my phone and it works fine, though only through one ear.

Is the Garmin plug a strange type? I tried pulling the plug out of the socket out slightly but no go.

daGeeeze 10-26-2012 02:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Three Dawg (Post 19880734)
I've recently fitted a Garmin 2610 Street Pilot to my GS. Don't laugh, I like it, and it was very cheap! Can't read the notes in the top of my tankbag any more so I just bang the route into the GPS and away I go- don't need it to do any thinking for me...

Anyway, I also bought an earpiece for it which has a 2.5mm stereo jack into a single helmet speaker, plugged it in and unfortunately it doesn't work. Tried it with the (stereo) earphones off my phone and it works fine, though only through one ear.

Is the Garmin plug a strange type? I tried pulling the plug out of the socket out slightly but no go.

I still have my old 2610 sitting in my basement. I don't remember it perfectly but are you sure it's a 2.5mm jack? Usually 3.5mm is for headphones and 2.5 for a microphone. I don't think the 2610 uses a microphone for anything. You might just have dirty contacts in the socket as well. Try just wiggling the plug in and out a bunch to see if it cleans up. Also I think most phones also use 3.5mm so you may have the right size plug and you're calling it the wrong thing?

Three Dawg 10-27-2012 01:07 AM

No, deffo a 2.5mm. Socket does work as stated because the headphones from my mobile (cell) phone play the spoken instructions, one side only though. All the cables etc are brand new. It's like the spacing on the jack connectors (the gaps between the insulator bands on the jack) is different which is perhaps why the stereo plug off my phone works, albeit in mono.

daGeeeze 10-27-2012 06:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Three Dawg (Post 19910244)
No, deffo a 2.5mm. Socket does work as stated because the headphones from my mobile (cell) phone play the spoken instructions, one side only though. All the cables etc are brand new. It's like the spacing on the jack connectors (the gaps between the insulator bands on the jack) is different which is perhaps why the stereo plug off my phone works, albeit in mono.

Your phone headset should have an extra band on it for a microphone. Perhaps that's why it's in mono. Can you just take it to a store and try out some other headphones on it? I've never been to Bonnie Scotland so I have no idea what to expect there. I know we have some small enough shops here that I could park the bike right out front and walk out to try headphones at several.

littlefield 10-28-2012 05:48 AM

The lead I use from my 2610 to the Autocom is 2.5mm and has one black insulator on the stem. You're plugging it into the jack coming off the power cord, right?

Three Dawg 10-28-2012 08:44 AM

Mine has two black bands. I'm plugging into the jack off the power cord.

Guess it's just the wrong sort of plug.

insignificant 11-03-2012 04:13 PM

Make sure the output is set for headphones and the volume is turned up.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014