ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=75)
-   -   Running through canbus without fuse (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=840895)

Kingsized 11-12-2012 05:54 PM

Running through canbus without fuse
 
I just bought a used 550 and the canbus cable (BMW) didn't have a fuse inline. How power stable are GPS as a whole? I know there is no blanket answer but best guess if I should cut and place a fuse in this cable?

Thanks!

Mudcat 11-13-2012 06:16 PM

I think you can put away your worry beads. I have no issues with my Zumo 450 powered through CANbus. 5 years maybe

Oh Yeah, when I was making a power cord for my Zumo 220, the guys at GPScity confirmed I did not need a fuse when going through CANbus, well, from the GPS plug or an accessory outlet

Bill Murray 11-13-2012 07:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kingsized (Post 20030151)
I just bought a used 550 and the canbus cable (BMW) didn't have a fuse inline. How power stable are GPS as a whole? I know there is no blanket answer but best guess if I should cut and place a fuse in this cable?

I powered a Zumo 550 via the BMW CanBus accessory connector for four year, without the inline fuse, with no problems. The fuse is there to protect your GPS from a voltage surge from the bike. The accessory CANBus source is only rated to provide 5 amps. (I now power my Montana 650 via the from CANBus connector.)

Try to keep the Zumo 550 mount dry. There is a seam that allows water to enter the mount, which eventually can cause corrosion and failure of the mount. I never experienced that problem, but you will see online accounts of this.

Kingsized 11-13-2012 07:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mudcat (Post 20037727)
I think you can put away your worry beads. I have no issues with my Zumo 450 powered through CANbus. 5 years maybe

Oh Yeah, when I was making a power cord for my Zumo 220, the guys at GPScity confirmed I did not need a fuse when going through CANbus, well, from the GPS plug or an accessory outlet

Thanks. I wasn't worried about the Zumo as much as my Electrical system.

Thanks again

Mudcat 11-14-2012 07:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kingsized (Post 20038261)
Thanks. I wasn't worried about the Zumo as much as my Electrical system.
Thanks again

Nope, the computer controls the electrical system on your BMW. There are no fuses. If a system draws more then the proscribed amount it is shut down by the computer.
The GPS plug and accessory ports shut down if the draw exceeds 5 amps.

I have my GPS powered from an accessory port on the left hand beak. I have a short power cable from the GPS unit which I can unplug easily, so, when I am parked in wonky areas, I just remove the GPS from the bike. It takes about 30 seconds.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014