ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Orange Crush (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   How to TB balance (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=841503)

rossguzzi 11-15-2012 07:20 AM

How to TB balance
 
I am still getting use to navagating around this site. I have not found how to balance the throttle bodies yet. Can someone point me in the right direction please?

AdvGa 11-15-2012 08:39 AM

I am not sure how it is done with Throttle Bodies... but it should be similar to the links done with Carbs:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=568920

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...4&postcount=10

DirtyADV 11-15-2012 01:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AdvGa (Post 20050090)
I am not sure how it is done with Throttle Bodies... but it should be similar to the links done with Carbs:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=568920

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...4&postcount=10


Not sure either how it works on the fuel injected bikes but here is a penny tech solution on car syncing on a carbed LC8

/Johan

AdvGa 11-15-2012 02:43 PM

Here is a link to the TBS on a 990 SuperDuke:

http://www.superduke.net/forum/viewt...=asc&highlight=

http://www.superduke.net/forum/style...ost_target.gifby lockers Sat Jun 21, 2008 1:20 am
I use the vaccum hoses that connect to the IAP (intake air pressure) sensors. Theres one on the frame beside the left side of the airbox and one just behind the radiator filler cap on the right. It's just small sensor with one thin hose and elec plug connecting to it, mounted in a rubber holder. Just pull the hose off, stick a joiner in the end of the existing hose and then connect the carbtune hose to that. You must disconnect the Elec plug too, or it will stall when running. You will have an FI light to come on too, due the the disconnected IAP sensors but don't worry about that.

The adjustment/balance screw is inside the airbox, on the left side of the rear throttle body. You need to raise the tank/remove the air filter to get to it. Then just tweak it until she's running sweet and re-assemble.

I do mine every minor service.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...s/DSCF2449.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...s/DSCF2447.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...s/DSCF2441.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...s/DSCF2442.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...s/DSCF2440.jpg

rossguzzi 11-15-2012 04:17 PM

So sorry I meant carb balance. I am so use to talking about throttle bodies (FI) !

Thanks for all the links etc.
Cheers.

Hipster 11-26-2012 06:48 AM

To sync the throttle bodies on FI 990's is it best to mechanically adjust the TB screw or make the adjustment thru software (TuneECU)?

Geek 11-26-2012 02:29 PM

I use one of these:
http://topgeek.smugmug.com/Adventure...MG_5857-XL.jpg

Couldn't be easier... stick it in one.. stick it in the other.. make sure the reading is the same.
if it isn't adjust the screw (mentioned above) until they match.

You are basically measuring the actual air consumed.

Hope this helps
:freaky

SlickSix 11-27-2012 04:51 AM

In my CBR F3 and F4i, which is Fi, I do it the grandpa way and as never failed me.

A piece of wood with 1m x 15 cm with 4 fishtank silicone hoses plugged together on the bottom with some small Ts and filled with regular car/bike oil.

Just plug the other end of the hoses to the TBs and adjust. Just like with a Carbtune only waaaaaaaaaaaaaay cheaper :lol3

SlickSix 11-27-2012 04:55 AM

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/E2J_N4VVGGo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

SlickSix 11-27-2012 05:03 AM

double post

srad600 12-13-2013 02:15 PM

Reviving this old(er) thread, I'm curious if anyone has actually sync'd the throttle bodies on an FI bike? I was reading electronic shop manual last night and it states that the throttle bodies should never be adjusted? :eek1

I picked up the synchrometer posted above, in hopes of checking/adjusting this weekend but I'd rather not get in there and hose up the TB's if they are really not meant to be adjusted. Thanks.

bikyto 12-13-2013 03:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by srad600 (Post 22983150)
Reviving this old(er) thread, I'm curious if anyone has actually sync'd the throttle bodies on an FI bike? I was reading electronic shop manual last night and it states that the throttle bodies should never be adjusted? :eek1

I picked up the synchrometer posted above, in hopes of checking/adjusting this weekend but I'd rather not get in there and hose up the TB's if they are really not meant to be adjusted. Thanks.

Use tuneecu for the reading and just adjust the screw on the rear left side of the TBs.
Some bikes are off and it's worth looking into.
My 2 cents :freaky

srad600 12-13-2013 09:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bikyto (Post 22983520)
Use tuneecu for the reading and just adjust the screw on the rear left side of the TBs.
Some bikes are off and it's worth looking into.
My 2 cents :freaky

I've read reports that tuneecu, although a great resource, was not appropriate for syncing the TB's. I'm just curious if anyone has actually done this and what the results were.

BigTony 12-13-2013 09:29 PM

I've used tuneecu but more recently a home made manometer (do a google search if interested - no need for a fancy vacuum gauge set on a twin)

Tuneecu got it pretty close but the values fluctuate so its hard to judge when they're averaging the same. I hooked up the manometer, (basically a tube with oil in it) to the tb vacuum ports and needed to make a slight adjustment, so I'd say that is more accurate.

I've removed the canister air pump and replaced with test leads, so the tb sync is easy to hook up, but if I hadn't done so I'd definitely get one of the gauges Geek suggests. It would be a ton of work to mess with vacuum hoses just to tb sync

bikyto 12-14-2013 12:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by srad600 (Post 22985700)
I've read reports that tuneecu, although a great resource, was not appropriate for syncing the TB's. I'm just curious if anyone has actually done this and what the results were.

KTM does it with a digital tuning gizmo.
I have done a few 990s with tuneecu and I don't find the fluctuation to be more than a few hpa. Usually, + or - 2/3 hpa.
I've also swapped around the MAP sensors to confirm readings.

I've adjusted them at 2000 rpm and then let the bike idle to see what the spread is. It's usually very close.

So, perhaps, tuneecu isn't perfect but the bikes were running pretty good afterwards. Just an opinion.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014