ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Parallel Universe (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=77)
-   -   F700GS - Clutch dragging (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=843046)

Charlie_boringman 11-22-2012 03:38 AM

F700GS - Clutch dragging

Hi,

I picked up my GS on the weekend, and what an awesome bike it is!
However, I've noticed that the clutch drags substantially when the lever is pulled in, making it a lot harder to push around compared to the bike being in neutral.

I've had a look at the clutch cable adjustment and it seems fine, but I'm no expert. I've never had to do any more than adjusting slack in the cable before.
I don't think it's the temperature, it doesn't really get that cold here.

CheckerdD 11-22-2012 10:38 AM

That 36 k warranty is nice to have. I would check to see if it's really a clutch problem by putting the bike up on the center stand and spinning the wheel in Neutral and trying to turn it in gear with the clutch in. That would eliminate your impression being based on a new and heavy bike. Remember their is oil in the clutch. If it's really dragging, what your describing is not normal. Dave

itsatdm 11-22-2012 10:49 AM

Is the engine cold or warm when you are pushing it around. The clutch plates have some stiction when cold and not unusual.

Tosh Togo 11-22-2012 01:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by itsatdm (Post 20098690)
Is the engine cold or warm when you are pushing it around. The clutch plates have some stiction when cold and not unusual.

What he said. Even when fully warmed up, there'll be noticeable drag.

Stop being so lazy, and just put it in neutral before you push.

Reaver 11-22-2012 04:20 PM