ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   GS Boxers (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   GSA GPS outlet help? (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=844472)

Britome 11-28-2012 05:20 AM

GSA GPS outlet help?
 
I just bought the bmw part used to plug into the adapter under the front beak in order to power my gps. I'm a bit confused by the non color coded wires.all three are yellow. I'm also having a hard time finding a thread on this. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Timthai 11-28-2012 06:32 AM

There are small numbers on both ends of the wires.
3 is positive, 1 is earth and 2 is unused.
I presume you have a power adapter for your GPS, don't connect these wires directly to your GPS unless it's designed for 12v input. I have a Garmin bare wire power supply (fused), but there's also a Garmin part that is a direct USB connector with no power supply inline... Be careful.
The connector is connected via the ignition circuit.
Cheers.

LaurelPerryOnLand 11-28-2012 06:36 AM

For future readers of the thread...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Britome (Post 20132839)
I just bought the bmw part used to plug into the adapter under the front beak in order to power my gps. I'm a bit confused by the non color coded wires.all three are yellow. I'm also having a hard time finding a thread on this. Can someone point me in the right direction?

The OP is referring to this: BMW calls it a REPAIR CONNECTOR

The 'numbers' of the wires are printed near the connector...about 1/4" from it...as shown in the picture.

<a href="http://s635.beta.photobucket.com/user/RMWBMW/library/" target="_blank"><img src="http://i635.photobucket.com/albums/uu73/RMWBMW/RepairConnector.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket"/></a>

Marki_GSA 11-28-2012 07:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LaurelPerryOnLand (Post 20133111)
The OP is referring to this: BMW calls it a REPAIR CONNECTOR
<a href="http://s635.beta.photobucket.com/user/RMWBMW/library/" target="_blank"><img src="http://i635.photobucket.com/albums/uu73/RMWBMW/RepairConnector.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket"/></a>

That's the cable with the numbers printed on it. If you look at the pictures you can just about make out the writing.

Just for information sake 2 isn't unused, it carries a signal from the speed sensor. Very handy if you ever want to install an aftermarket electronic cruise control.

Britome 11-28-2012 07:54 AM

You guys are awesome. Thank you. I guess my 47 year old eyes are getting worn down. Father Time is a bitch.

I'm taking this into my garmin Montana cradle. Are you saying I need to put a fuse between this plug and the cradle? I thought that wasn't needed when going off that plug under the beak.

Marki_GSA 11-28-2012 08:14 AM

No you don't need a fuse on that connection

Britome 11-30-2012 04:44 AM

I carefully wired everything up last night and no juice. Bummer.

I've checked obvious potential snags and am stumped. Any troubleshooting ideas you have would be greatly appreciated.

TuefelHunden 11-30-2012 04:55 AM

I'm not a Can-Bus fan and a bit of a control freak. I like to control when my GPS is on and off. That's one of the main reasons I put a fuzeblock in and run my GPS off of it.

Disco Dean 11-30-2012 06:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Britome (Post 20147555)
I carefully wired everything up last night and no juice. Bummer.

I've checked obvious potential snags and am stumped. Any troubleshooting ideas you have would be greatly appreciated.

Did you wire it to the unit to test? You won't get a signal from the pins with the canbus...

Also - was the key in and turned on? Again since this plug is part of the canbus there is a auto turn off from the computer to avoid draining the system - so again, it will not be on unless you turn on the key and even then will auto shut-off after a few minutes (5 mins??)

Try that.

Timthai 11-30-2012 07:04 AM

Did you check with a meter or test probe that you had power at the wires before you connected them to the unit?
If not, you have the added complexity of not knowing whether it's the canbus, your connection, your GPS cradle, or your GPS.
I metered the bare wires first so I was sure I had power and correct polarity. It worked perfectly once I connected it.
A little more information on what you know is working and what is not might be helpful.
Cheers.

Multiplicity 11-30-2012 11:26 AM

One is ground and one is 12 volts. Use a test light with the key on to find the 12 volt supply wire.
Wire it to the necessary circuit for the GPS :evil The 3rd wire isn't used and has no terminal inside the bikes plug.

Britome 11-30-2012 11:35 AM

Thx everyone... Duh! Regardless of how careful I was marking the microscopic numbered wires I must have had them crossed. I reconnected old wires along with touching the plug. My fuse blew so I switched my yellow wires and voila. All fixed and working with no damage. I love this site!

RJP3579 12-01-2012 12:37 AM

On my plug, the numbers are stamped on the white plastic connector right where the yellow wires enter. They are stamped into the plastic connector, little hard to read at least for us old folks. I just connected my Zumo to that connector even though I have had the plug sitting around for about a year. I procrastinate.

capeklr 12-03-2012 10:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LaurelPerryOnLand (Post 20133111)
The OP is referring to this: BMW calls it a REPAIR CONNECTOR

The 'numbers' of the wires are printed near the connector...about 1/4" from it...as shown in the picture.

http://i635.photobucket.com/albums/u...rConnector.jpg

Does anybody have a part number on this for me please?

LaurelPerryOnLand 12-03-2012 10:36 AM

part number...??
 
83300413585 as shown in the picture...:rofl

http://www.maxbmwmotorcycles.com/fic...ts=83300413585


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014