ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   GS Boxers (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Fuel strip fix? (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=844902)

wjrudo 11-29-2012 05:53 PM

Fuel strip fix?
 
I've been diving into this problem for a while and may be able to provide a fix. I'd like to get an idea what you've been paying for a replacement strips, if the strips come as an assembly(plastic support, wires, any other items in the tank, etc.) Labor, if it requires resetting the system, etc. Any pics would be helpful. I have a faulty strip in my '07 and have removed it just to look, but haven't bothered to replace it or get a price or anything. The fix would be a direct replacement strip made by an aircraft fuel system manufacturer, built to my specs. Just tossing this out there to see what response I get. Thanks.

scooteraug02 11-29-2012 06:38 PM

It looks like it is $144.32 Mine was fixed under warranty and gets a 2 year warranty for that repair.

http://www.maxbmwmotorcycles.com/fic...png?v=08102012

Davis53 11-29-2012 07:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by scooteraug02 (Post 20145843)
It looks like it is $144.32 Mine was fixed under warranty and gets a 2 year warranty for that repair.

http://www.maxbmwmotorcycles.com/fic...png?v=08102012

Is the strip number ten?

Callisto224 12-01-2012 02:18 PM

Yes it's number 10 in the drawing. I'm on my 3rd one now (my original went bad this summer). They've been covered under warranty and, according to my dealer (BMW Motorcycles of SE Michigan :clap ), they will continue to be covered under warranty.

jzeiler 12-01-2012 08:00 PM

You can continue to have your dealer replace them under warranty or you can fix them yourself -on the bike with $3.50 tool.

Just zap the two middle pins in the fuel flange four pin connector with a scripto piezo electric lighter. Disconnect the connector and stick the opened end into the flange connector and click it two or three times. The sensor element in the strip is not as flexible as it should be and develops fractures causing an open circuit.

The momentary high voltage arc from the lighter travels the length of the sensor substrate and fuses it back together. I am on my first strip and it failed two weks ago. After zapping it it has worked for two tank fulls.

Note that during the first fill up the Miles to Empty function will re-calibrate itself and be back to normal after about 40 miles of driving.

Condolini 12-02-2012 11:33 AM

Mine is an early build '06, doesn't have the strip. Cost almost $700 to fix it, not covered by warranty. Dealer had the strip, didn't have what mine needed. Oh we'll, I have a functioning fuel gauge for the first time in 4 years. :evil

roadtrip22 12-04-2012 03:25 PM

I have a 2008 GSA. I was informed that my fuel strip had to be programmed to the bike and a simple plug an play was not an option. Was I mis-informed or can a gs911 perform this task??

acejones 12-04-2012 03:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Condolini (Post 20162722)
Mine is an early build '06, doesn't have the strip. Cost almost $700 to fix it, not covered by warranty. Dealer had the strip, didn't have what mine needed. Oh we'll, I have a functioning fuel gauge for the first time in 4 years. :evil

If you had known when you bought it that you would have to pay $ 175 a year for a functioning fuel guage would you have thought that to be a good deal ?

jzeiler 12-04-2012 04:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by roadtrip22 (Post 20178210)
I have a 2008 GSA. I was informed that my fuel strip had to be programmed to the bike and a simple plug an play was not an option. Was I mis-informed or can a gs911 perform this task??

All I can say is that when I "repaired" my old strip (2009 GS) and I filled the tank my MTE read 163 instead of the normal 225. It counted up as I drove the first 39 miles and when it got to 205 it started counting down again. Sounds like it was re-calibrating itself. I will report again when it hits the low fuel warning and compare what that to what it used to be as well at the MTE on the next fill up.

No need to pay $175 - just buy a $3.50 Scripto Lighter and zap your old strip back to life.

WeazyBuddha 12-05-2012 09:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jzeiler (Post 20178648)
All I can say is that when I "repaired" my old strip (2009 GS) and I filled the tank my MTE read 163 instead of the normal 225. It counted up as I drove the first 39 miles and when it got to 205 it started counting down again. Sounds like it was re-calibrating itself. I will report again when it hits the low fuel warning and compare what that to what it used to be as well at the MTE on the next fill up.

No need to pay $175 - just buy a $3.50 Scripto Lighter and zap your old strip back to life.

I seem to remember reading a thread in which someone posted about zapping the things into working order with the right amount of electricity but it sounded complex. A lighter? Really? :scratch

:ear

pancho 12-06-2012 07:12 AM

Go for it Wheazy! I'll stand by with camera and fire extinguisher! We could become famous! LOL

When are we heading to San Miguel Allende? I'm ready, or am I late?

roadtrip22 12-06-2012 08:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jzeiler (Post 20178648)
All I can say is that when I "repaired" my old strip (2009 GS) and I filled the tank my MTE read 163 instead of the normal 225. It counted up as I drove the first 39 miles and when it got to 205 it started counting down again. Sounds like it was re-calibrating itself. I will report again when it hits the low fuel warning and compare what that to what it used to be as well at the MTE on the next fill up.

No need to pay $175 - just buy a $3.50 Scripto Lighter and zap your old strip back to life.


I like my bike to not blow it up.. I'd rather spend $175 for a new part than deal with insurance.. Convincing them my bike just blew up for no reason or because i dropped it may only work in movies..

WeazyBuddha 12-06-2012 08:13 AM

Hey Pancho. I was thinking of you the other day.

Yes; I'd very much like to do SMA. I need to get the KLR running but I suppose I could take the GS.

We're doing a valve adjustment, throttle body synch on Saturday, you are welcome to join us. It'll be a bit of tech day, Cory will be doing work on his KLR and Jim will be helping me with the valves and throttle synch. I'm suggesting we get together at 107 cafe for breakfast at 8:30. I'll send an email shortly and will include you.

dede 12-06-2012 09:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wjrudo (Post 20145521)
I've been diving into this problem for a while and may be able to provide a fix. I'd like to get an idea what you've been paying for a replacement strips, if the strips come as an assembly(plastic support, wires, any other items in the tank, etc.) Labor, if it requires resetting the system, etc. Any pics would be helpful. I have a faulty strip in my '07 and have removed it just to look, but haven't bothered to replace it or get a price or anything. The fix would be a direct replacement strip made by an aircraft fuel system manufacturer, built to my specs. Just tossing this out there to see what response I get. Thanks.

Has anyone checked to see if the newer model non strip (float) system would fit the earlier tanks and put out a signal or easily modified signal that the older system would read? Surely this has been thought of, I just haven't read it.

wonderings 12-06-2012 04:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dede (Post 20190479)
Has anyone checked to see if the newer model non strip (float) system would fit the earlier tanks and put out a signal or easily modified signal that the older system would read? Surely this has been thought of, I just haven't read it.

Would like to know that myself, I think I asked that very question, but did not hear if it was possible. I would rather pay a bit more and get a system that will be reliable.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014