ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc) (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   KTM warranty repair process? (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=851845)

sonoran 12-29-2012 06:36 PM

KTM warranty repair process?
 
I've been having some intermittent issues with the LCD display on my '10 990 Adventure so I shot some video of the problem, emailed it to local dealer and he says bring it in we'll need to look at it. OK, sounds reasonable. I roll over there a few days later and the problem isn't really showing but you can see some of the LCD segments flickering.

http://i.imgur.com/yCxzM.jpg

Service manager says we need to pull the unit off and send it to KTM for testing, it is unknown how long that will take. If they order a replacement part and ship back a working speedo then I'll be charged for a new one... it's $630.

I don't think this is a reasonable request.

Has anyone ever been in a situation where they had to ship parts back to the KTM factory to be tested before a warranty would be honored? Is this a standard practice?

I've not had any warranty claims with KTM before.

Chuckracer 12-29-2012 07:07 PM

The dealer makes the call...shit dealer.

Cuse 12-29-2012 07:44 PM

+1 on shit dealer

ciedema 12-29-2012 08:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sonoran (Post 20353986)
Has anyone ever been in a situation where they had to ship parts back to the KTM factory to be tested before a warranty would be honored? Is this a standard practice?

I've not had any warranty claims with KTM before.

Not with KTM, but I have had it with other items depending on the item, especially in the case of electronics I don't think this is unreasonable. Naturally depending on circumstance.

JTucker 12-29-2012 08:55 PM

They require parts to be shipped back all the time for credit. A good dealer knows what they can send back and will take care of the problem for you, I know we would.
Instrument clusters are a known issue on their bikes and they replace them all the time.

Pussboy 12-29-2012 09:29 PM

My dealer got my new display in, i pulled the bike in and the mechanic, Marty, swapped it out right there. Thanks Wheelsports in Ohio!

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

sonoran 12-29-2012 09:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JTucker (Post 20354785)
They require parts to be shipped back all the time for credit. A good dealer knows what they can send back and will take care of the problem for you, I know we would.
Instrument clusters are a known issue on their bikes and they replace them all the time.

Yep, thanks.

I think I'll just go to a different dealer.

This should be a no-brainer for warranty coverage without having to ship my speedo in first.

Buscapé 12-30-2012 06:59 AM

Easy fix...open the display, blow out the dust that comes from the circuitboard rubbing against the housing (which causes bad contacts), close display, done. This is not an unknown problem for a competent dealer (or it should not be anyway).

Murray75 12-30-2012 10:02 AM

Different dealer for sure. For me, the dealer took pics of the funky cluster, emailed them off to KTM N.A. for warranty verification, and had the green light for warranty work within a couple hours. Your picture should be proof enough - no need to send that off for testing.

sonoran 12-30-2012 11:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Buscapé (Post 20356330)
Easy fix...open the display, blow out the dust that comes from the circuitboard rubbing against the housing (which causes bad contacts), close display, done. This is not an unknown problem for a competent dealer (or it should not be anyway).

Thanks for posting this!!

If you look closely at the picture I posted there is some white dust which can be seen on the inside of the lens. I took it apart, sprayed the internals liberally with a can of compressed air and a whole lot of white dust came flying out.

Installed it back on the bike and it looks to be functioning 100%! :clap

Out of curiosity-- for those who have replaced the instrument cluster- did that reset your odometer to zero?

Katoom72 12-30-2012 07:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sonoran (Post 20357750)
Thanks for posting this!!

If you look closely at the picture I posted there is some white dust which can be seen on the inside of the lens. I took it apart, sprayed the internals liberally with a can of compressed air and a whole lot of white dust came flying out.

Installed it back on the bike and it looks to be functioning 100%! :clap

Out of curiosity-- for those who have replaced the instrument cluster- did that reset your odometer to zero?

KTM needs to know the current milage and programs that number into it. I had a 2008 Superduke R speedo replaced after a crash. The digit's went crazy due to the impact of the bike.

FYYFF 05-09-2013 10:58 AM

I don't know what is the outcome of your problem since it has been couple months but I had a similar problem with LCD display on my '10 990Adv and the dealer changed it (twice) under warranty with no problem or hassle.
Funny thing, I found this thread searching Western Extended Warranty because I have an extended warranty with them and see if they cover something on my bike.
BTW, nope, they don't reset the odometer.
Anyways, hope your problem is solved...

two trackin fool 11-05-2013 02:09 AM

I am in the mits of this myself started another thread didn't find this one .

I'm all set part is on way just a phone call by the dealer .
I'm still riding didn't need to send anything in . I notice these post are all 2010 model's but one wreck . Are the '10s the only one's affected or is it a chance I will have an issue again ?
I'm HOPING since my cluster was a '10 and it's now '13 & model year '14 the issue is repaired ........ :ear

sonoran 11-05-2013 09:01 AM

Coming up on a year since my replacement and so far no issues.

Bootsy 11-06-2013 08:28 AM

change dealer!!!!
 
KTM perfect knows that issue to our display.
Here in Italy,I know that dealers change it with a new one without any matter,and under warranty,even if this is....over (after 24 months):clap


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014