ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Airheads (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=85)
-   -   /6 turn indicator on dim all the time? what the heck? help please! (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=854376)

meijer's trails 01-09-2013 02:19 PM

/6 turn indicator on dim all the time? what the heck? help please!
 
So I fired up the old slash 6 today.
The turn signal indicator light is stuck on dim with the turn signal switch in the off position. Neither left nor right.

I do know the with a burned bulb, it won't flash but stays steady when you select the burned out side.

But this is different. Its on dim with only the key on. Then flashes bright normally with the selection of a turn.

Has anyone seen this happen?
Help will be greatly appreciated.
Battery is in good condition, and its charging fine and the gen light is extinguishing with revs, and illuminating upon key on selection.

Help please! Could a back light have instrument light slipped loose or something?
It did seem like the instrument light comes on in The parking position and in The headlight position. my turn indicator stays on dim in Every position. Instrument light is off I. The day position though, so it couldn't be that bulb....hmmmm

craydds 01-09-2013 02:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by meijer's trails (Post 20439210)
Then flashes bright normally with the selection of a turn.

Could a back light have instrument light slipped loose or something?

1. Sounds like the relay is working correctly and sending the "flashing" power to the indicator bulb (black/white wire from the relay to the bulb); but I wonder if the relay might continue to send a "weak" power conncetion to the bulb? Do you have another relay that you can use for testing purposes? (I have an extra.)
2. Take apart your instrument cluster and check/clean all the connections, bulbs, and circuits. It could be that the indicator bulb is getting "weak" power connection from another bulb's circuit.

craydds 01-09-2013 02:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by meijer's trails (Post 20439210)

Help please! Could a back light have instrument light slipped loose or something?

Here is a schematic of the instrument cluster --- http://www.p-thomas.com/shared/BMW/74%20R90%20Pod.pdf .

craydds 01-09-2013 03:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by craydds (Post 20439365)
1. Sounds like the relay is working correctly and sending the "flashing" power to the indicator bulb (black/white wire from the relay to the bulb); but I wonder if the relay might continue to send a "weak" power conncetion to the bulb?

Check your black/white wire from the relay to the instrument cluster. Could it be that it is getting postitive power from somewhere? Check/clean the wiring harness pin connectors at the instrument pod. I have another link to a wiring harness schematic. Send it later.

disston 01-09-2013 03:33 PM

I think it's a bad relay, or possibly some crossed wiring. Could be a problem with the bulb holder in the instrument cluster.

http://imageshack.us/a/img690/7132/instcluster18.png

Be very careful with the tiny parts, do not over tighten the tiny screws, most of these parts are not available.

Bill Harris 01-09-2013 03:52 PM

Probably a bad connection, a cross-connection or a bad ground somewhere in the turn signal wiring. Grab a schematic and start tracing.

--Bill

spo123 01-09-2013 03:54 PM

I agree with, Bill....Probably a bad or dirty ground.
Good luck.

craydds 01-09-2013 04:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by craydds (Post 20439554)
I have another link to a wiring harness schematic. Send it later.

schematic --- http://www.p-thomas.com/shared/BMW/7...0%20Wiring.pdf

craydds 01-09-2013 04:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by spo123 (Post 20439989)
Probably a bad or dirty ground.

How does a "bad or dirty ground" cause a light to turn ON? Could it be that cross-connection giving positive (+) power to the bulb is causing the bulb to turn ON? The turn signal circuits are fairly straightforward (for a BMW); study the wiring diagrams and decipher the problem.

Bill Harris 01-09-2013 06:07 PM

It's called a "ghost or phantom light". Other lights or devices try find a ground by discharging "backwards" through a bulb with the good ground.

--Bill

meijer's trails 01-09-2013 06:16 PM

I have no idea conceptually how a bulb accidentally turns on!
I'm already stumped.
There has to be a voltage leak into that circuit somewhere!
Maybe the switch, had the headlight dimming side apart before, that was a MESS!

I did have to crank longer than usual since cell it was so cold today.
I wonder if I could have overheated the inside of the switch itself with current,
Or I was pressing the starter button too hard and smeared a connector somehow?

I'll keep you guys posted when I find it. I was just wondering if this had happened to anyone else.
I do have another relay from a g/s but its 7years newer. I'll have to see if they're the same.

Thanks
Jason

meijer's trails 01-09-2013 06:26 PM

Oh no. Ghost light and phantom light both sound super hard to track down.
Only a Sasquatch light would be harder to find!!

Just the name alone implies great difficulty. I have to find something else grounding I to my tmake rnlightbulb.

Ron Bernert 01-10-2013 04:16 AM

Check your grounds
 
I know it seems odd, but before you chase wires all over the bike looking for a bad connection, clean and check (using an ohm meter) your grounds. Grounds are the often ignored item that contributes exactly 50% to each and every electrical connection on your bike. You can also check if it's the relay by installing a 3-prong standard relay in it's place. Wiring it in is easy. Look under the 'tips and tricks' section for the schematic. Good luck!

chasbmw 01-10-2013 05:05 AM

If your bike is a 74, the front indicators did not have ground wires, worth adding if your bike lacks these.

Generally time spent cleaning up all the connections on an airhead is time well spent, especially the thick red wires at the starter relay. 50% of all airhead electrical problems are due to corrosion on these connectors:deal:deal

Hive you replaced the under the tank MC with a handlebar one recently?

meijer's trails 01-10-2013 12:04 PM

Trick question! The 60/6 has cable brake. No. I haven't messed with it recently, its been 10 years since I replaced those handle bar switches.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014