ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Orange Crush (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   Q about speedo pickup (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=856335)

Off Road Ryder 01-17-2013 03:44 PM

Q about speedo pickup
 
I wore my speedo pickup wires threw last summer. Rode without a speedo for some time. I recently resoldered the wires and added a bit more preventative heat shrink and tied them back so hopefully this does not happen again. well I took a rip and speedo just reads 0 I trust my splice so started poking around and I cant find a magnet in the brake rotor. I took a look at a parts schematic and no magnet there either.:huh
Anyone know what signals the sensor that the wheel has made a rotation?

cjracer 01-17-2013 03:53 PM

the rotor bolt heads

MAXVERT 01-17-2013 03:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cyclops Motorsports (Post 20511520)
I wore my speedo pickup wires threw last summer. Rode without a speedo for some time. I recently resoldered the wires and added a bit more preventative heat shrink and tied them back so hopefully this does not happen again. well I took a rip and speedo just reads 0 I trust my splice so started poking around and I cant find a magnet in the brake rotor. I took a look at a parts schematic and no magnet there either.:huh
Anyone know what signals the sensor that the wheel has made a rotation?

The speedO sensor picks up the brake rotor bolts.

Same as the 990S and other non ABS LC8's

Check clearance between the sensor and rotor bolts.

Max

DSM8 01-17-2013 04:57 PM

When I got rid of the ABS I had to replace my pickup with the one used on the 950.

I don't know but maybe it is possible your splice might have added too much resistance to the wire for the pickup to work.

Also check the clearance of the pickup to bolt heads like other said. I think there is some wiggle room when installing it that will change that gap.

Off Road Ryder 01-18-2013 09:05 AM

Thanks
 
Thanks guys:clap.That helps a lot. I need that speedo, you know how thirsty these things are.

brents347 01-18-2013 04:07 PM

When mine failed like this (a common problem) I soldered it back together like you did only to find that the overall wire was old and fragile and broke again right away. Ended up having to replace it.

Edit- new cable costs $66.

Off Road Ryder 01-19-2013 09:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by brents347 (Post 20520435)
When mine failed like this (a common problem) I soldered it back together like you did only to find that the overall wire was old and fragile and broke again right away. Ended up having to replace it.

Edit- new cable costs $66.

Thats where Im leaning. Those wires take a lot of abuse


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014