ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Americas (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=57)
-   -   Northwestern Nevada (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=860853)

Tlaloc 02-04-2013 04:14 PM

Northwestern Nevada

I'm thinking about riding from Portland down into Nevada on 140. I'd like to get off the pavement onto roads like 8A and 34A. What's the surface quality of those roads? I'm not very experienced at off-road riding and will be on a loaded Tenere. Knowing that these roads are not very traveled, is it advisable to ride them alone? My guess is that cell coverage is non-existent.<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>
<o:p></o:p>
I'd appreciate any thoughts or advice.<o:p></o:p>
Thanks.<o:p></o:p>

stormdog 02-04-2013 05:17 PM

From memory aren't those the roads you would take between Cederville or Gurlock and Denio junction?
If they are. When dry they are fast gravel I would catch myself running faster then freeway speeds on my 990
Can't vouch for them wet or this time of year.
Oh and watch for horses

Tlaloc 02-04-2013 07:51 PM

Thanks, Stormdog. Yes, those are the roads I'm thinking about. I'll go in late April or early May. So rain should be less likely.

Maybe I should take a flare gun. :D

jphish 02-06-2013 04:57 AM

Tlaloc - yep- good roads. A few short (100 yd) sections of sand that made the tiger 'squirm' a bit - but nothing that will be a problem at speed. Traveled them in & out while fishing Pyramid lake last May. You can go faster - but 55/60 is a nice pace to "make time" & still enjoy the Black Rock scenery.

LetItRoll 02-07-2013 08:40 PM

8a is usually great, better than some paved roads in places, better early in the year as long as no snow storms coming through, road surface should be set good.