ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Battle scooters (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Around the US, 9,000 mile journey (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=871814)

JoelScootDude 03-18-2013 07:35 PM

Around the US, 9,000 mile journey

Hello everyone:

This is my first post so it might as well be an introduction ( didnt see an introduction forum section).

I'm Joel. I travel about 60 to 70 miles a day on my scooter, and somedays about 100. I go on weekend trips all the time. I ride to scooter rallies all over the East coast. I've been riding scooters for 4 years, and accumulated well over 100,000 miles in that time.

I currently own a Piaggio Fly 150. It now has over 21,000 miles and I bought it last April. not even 1 year ago.

Last year, I took a crazy ride ( on the highway) from Orlando FL, to Lake Geneva Wisconsin for an event Called "Amerivespa" . It is the biggest scooter convention/rally in the US. over 4 days long. I rode up there trough the highway system, 1300 miles, took me 2.5 days. In that time I saw more of this country I had ever seen in my life and been the furthest away from home I've ever been. Many many stories came from that trip, along with a severe injury after i crashed into an SUV at 55mph, fractured my wrist and 6 fractures in my ankle. But overall great.

This year I will be going around the US. Originally was going to the upper most east corner of Canada, then shorted it to Maine before going to PA, just north of Philly. the reason is I have a job.

The trip will go from Orlando, trough Atlanta, then trough the tail of the dragon, up the Blue Ridge parkway, then Skyline Drive, down to Washington DC, then up to PA.

After PA I haven't figured out which is the best way to go to Wisconsin. Headed to Lake Geneva.

From Lake Geneva, going west trough Route 14, along the Mississippi, to Minnesota, then west.