ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   The Garage (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   new rider/learning mechanics any tips? (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=873123)

One Fat Roach 03-23-2013 10:52 PM

new rider/learning mechanics any tips?

I just started riding in 2011, I'm 26 years old and have little to no experience working on anything with an engine. I own a 1980 Honda 250 XL, recently i just changed my front brake cable and it was easier than i imagined. As soon as I replaced that my front headlight stopped working. It seems as soon as I fix one thing, something else goes wrong. Is this normal? And also how do I go about trying to fix something with pretty much zero knowledge? I've been reading a lot on these forums as well as others but the lingo is way over my head. Any help is much appreciated

trc.rhubarb 03-23-2013 10:56 PM

Keep reading, soon the lingo will make sense. Read all the posts from people with a similar bike, you never know when that info will come in handy.

Seems just about anything you want to do can be learned on youtube anymore.

On a bike that's been around for 33 years, plenty can and will go wrong but its a simple machine for the most part and lots of people are here ready to help you out.

Good luck!

GreaseMonkey 03-23-2013 11:05 PM

Fill in your profile, and put down the general area where you live as there may be a helpful person close by.

Other than that just take things as they come! One thing that can be helpful to you is to locate a digital copy of a shop manual for your bike, put it on an old flash drive (or maybe nowadays an old mini usb card) and stash it somewhere on your bike so if you have to work on it someplace away from home you'll have the manual.