ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   GS Boxers (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Help Needed:1150 lost headlight, turnsignals, lights in tach and speedo (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=874817)

Schlug 03-30-2013 05:26 PM

Help Needed:1150 lost headlight, turnsignals, lights in tach and speedo
 
For the last week or so my turn signals have been acting oddly in that they flash quickly as if a bulb is out, only both front and rear are fine. Sometimes one would flash normally and one would flash quickly, but most of the time they have both flashed quickly.

Today on the way in to work (5:30 AM) , I noticed I couldn't see my speedo or my tach. The lights on the RID are fine, the dash lights work fine (high beam, neutral, etc). As I was riding I could see the red light on the hazard flasher button flickering on and off. It was then I noticed I had no headlamp either. Once I got off the slab, I could see the headlamp flickering on and off as I rode.

When I got out of work I checked the fuses and they are all fine. I have no idea if turn signals, headlamp, and lights on the tach and speedo are on the same fuse or not. As I was mucking about with the saddle off, a coworker came over and watched me. I started the bike and the headlamp and turn signals were working fine, but the flashers were flashing quickly. I hit the high beam button and suddenly they started working normally. But after I started the bike and let it run for a few moments I lost my headlamp and turn signals compelely. I tried turning the bars, bouncing the bike, wiggling all the wiring I could see and nothing happened. On the way home I could see my hazard flasher button flickering again but by the time I reached home I had no lights again and this time nothing I did would make them return.

Any ideas?

krellheat 03-30-2013 05:31 PM

loose ground - check hand control harness connectors for corrosion.

Schlug 03-30-2013 06:39 PM

I don't quite understand.

Is there is plug at the switchgear which may have come loose?

Schlug 03-31-2013 07:47 AM

let the help pour forth. The Dakar is in bits so I really could use this bike for the commute.

It's been a shitty winter and I've spent far too many hours in the truck.

Schlug 03-31-2013 07:27 PM

Okay, GS Addict asked me to switch the load relief relay with the horn relay and see what happened.

Guess what?

I have turn signals, headlamp, and all lights back. No horn, but I suspect that's because the bad relay is now in the horn relay slot and the good relay is in charge of load relief, what ever that is.

I'm electrically challenged. I'm a steamfitter by trade, not an electical engineer.

The only question is whether I can ride like this? I shouldn't see why not. Aside from having no horn, I should be in better shape than I was riding home at dusk with no headlamp, tail light and turn signals.

I see there is a spot for spare relays, I think I'll get one. Or two.


I would like to thank GS Addict for the time he took from his busy schedule to proffer a solution.

k1w1t1m 03-31-2013 08:26 PM

Be careful. That spare spot you see may be where the CCP goes when fitted. Putting a relay there could affect the way your bike runs.

JimVonBaden 03-31-2013 08:40 PM

If all you did was swap relays from the horn location, and now your horn doesn't work, I would say you are fine to ride. Of course your horn won't work, but that is expected.

Jim :brow

Schlug 03-31-2013 08:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by k1w1t1m (Post 21079412)
Be careful. That spare spot you see may be where the CCP goes when fitted. Putting a relay there could affect the way your bike runs.


Copy that. I don't think you could get a small relay to plug in there, but I'll be sure and tuck them away so they cause no harm.

http://micapeak.com/bmw/gs/images/r11fuseb.gif

Schlug 03-31-2013 08:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JimVonBaden (Post 21079515)
If all you did was swap relays from the horn location, and now your horn doesn't work, I would say you are fine to ride. Of course your horn won't work, but that is expected.

Jim :brow


I thought the same. Any idea what the 'load relief' relay does, exactly?

JimVonBaden 03-31-2013 08:47 PM

The load relief relay shuts down all the high draw peripheral items during the start (when the start button is pushed) to allow full power to the starter to turn over the motor.

Jim :brow

Schlug 03-31-2013 08:52 PM

Ahh, that's why items not interrupted during starting (RID, etc) were fine, but all the items killed for starting were knackered when the relay went.

Good to know.

I was confused when items on the same fuse were both working and not working.

I donated a few dollars to Baldy for the help on behalf of GS Addict for the fix. Thanks for the info, Jim.

Schlug 04-01-2013 02:47 AM

In case anyone else should be searching this sort of glitch I should note for posterity that the first symptoms were turn signals flashing quickly as if one of the bulbs were done. But all bulbs were fine.

This went on for a couple weeks, and it happened more than it didn't but it was intermittent.

So if this starts happening to you and your 1150, swap the horn relay with the load-relief relay and see if the problem is remedied. If it is: go buy a couple small relays and swap out the bad one.

Schlug 04-01-2013 03:42 PM

I purchased two relays at the BMW dealer today. One to fix the knackered relay and one for spare.

They have a different (superceded?) part number and the news I bought were yellow and made in Portugal instead of the German made Siemens relay that was in there.

I think they were about 17 dollars each.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014