ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Orange Crush (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   Cool electrical farkel, in your glove box. Power your stuff. (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=877893)

smitty141 04-10-2013 04:54 PM

Cool electrical farkel, in your glove box. Power your stuff.
 
Well I have had my new 2012 990 for a week and a half. I have added my GPS, V1 radar detector, and a Ampi-rider to control my tunes. I am trying to be a minimalist with this bike, and trying to keep it simple. That said, there is just not enough places to hook up your electronics. Sure you have the ACC 1, and ACC 2 under the dash, but thats not good enough for me.

Here's what I did in less than a hour and for less than $11.00 bucks. Keep in mind, all disclaimers apply:lol3:lol3.

Here's a link for the part.
http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/se...yword=350418bp

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i2...ps03dbf085.jpg

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i2...ps98c9788a.jpg

I also will use the 90 deg. connectors to give me the most room for wiring.

And here's whats involved. Remove the glove box. With the new fuse panel scribe around it on the back side. Lay it out, and take your time.. Make it look factory..

I used a step drill to remove most of the plastic, then a dremell. Clean it up and square the corners with a razor knife. The new hole is to the rider of the stock fuse panel.

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i2...ps480ea83a.jpg

This is what the backside looks like after you have the hole cut and pressed into place.

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i2...ps51c1ae05.jpg

After your happy with the fix, stick it in place. I used some epoxy, the type you just knead together. JB weld is just to runny, and will make a mess.

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i2...ps07a9889e.jpg

And here is the final product, and if I have to say so... It looks like it came there. And it has a cool clear cover for the fuses.

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i2...ps780fd533.jpg

The only down side to this panel... One side is not a common buss. So you will have to chain the terminals on one side (hot side) together. On the plus side you can have half always hot, and relay the other to come on with the key...

I have seen several post on this subject... Hope this helps.

This will give you a fused point of protection. You still have to wire it... And do it the right way... Don't let any smoke out, it's a bitch to put it back in..

Smitty :freaky

Mr_Snips 04-10-2013 06:23 PM

http://www.fuzeblocks.com/index.php?pid=1#board

Thats what i'm going to use. i like the concept of all in one type deal.

DakarDarrell 04-10-2013 06:27 PM

That looks like a factory fit, it gets the DakarDarrell seal of approval

smitty141 04-11-2013 09:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr_Snips (Post 21157541)
http://www.fuzeblocks.com/index.php?pid=1#board

Thats what i'm going to use. i like the concept of all in one type deal.

The problem with putting a fuse box/fuseblock in the glove box is maintenance If you have to remove the glove box you will have to remove all the wiring from the panel. Plus pull all the wires through the hole you had to drill in the box. The Fuseblock in your link is great, but I see no real good place on this bike to put it.

I can just unplug the wiring and remove .. That said, there's many ways to skin a cat..

Smitty

CamelBill 04-11-2013 11:11 AM

First class Install
 
As usual, another quality and professional looking install from Smitty:deal

DirtJack 04-11-2013 05:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by smitty141 (Post 21161588)
The problem with putting a fuse box/fuseblock in the glove box is maintenance If you have to remove the glove box you will have to remove all the wiring from the panel. Plus pull all the wires through the hole you had to drill in the box. The Fuseblock in your link is great, but I see no real good place on this bike to put it.

I can just unplug the wiring and remove .. That said, there's many ways to skin a cat..

Smitty

Why not fasten nuts to the fuse block, then use screws from the top just like the factory block. Having to unplug the wiring will be a pain every time you remove the tanks. If some one else services the bike they likely won't get it back together correctly.

smitty141 04-11-2013 06:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DirtJack (Post 21165343)
Why not fasten nuts to the fuse block, then use screws from the top just like the factory block. Having to unplug the wiring will be a pain every time you remove the tanks. If some one else services the bike they likely won't get it back together correctly.


Tha spare fuses are in the way... What would be perfect if that was possible. I am thinking about adding a five wire plug to the bottom. That way you could just unplug the whole unit. Something like a trailer/SAE connector. That would make it super simple to unplug..

Smitty

DirtJack 04-12-2013 04:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by smitty141 (Post 21165634)
Tha spare fuses are in the way... What would be perfect if that was possible. I am thinking about adding a five wire plug to the bottom. That way you could just unplug the whole unit. Something like a trailer/SAE connector. That would make it super simple to unplug..

Smitty

Carry the fuses in a baggie in the glove box. :D

Peanuts 04-13-2013 03:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by smitty141 (Post 21165634)
Tha spare fuses are in the way... What would be perfect if that was possible. I am thinking about adding a five wire plug to the bottom. That way you could just unplug the whole unit. Something like a trailer/SAE connector. That would make it super simple to unplug..

Smitty

Buy a 6 way molex connector. Same type of plug used by KTM for the headlight, so it can certainly carry the current of your accessories.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/MOLEX-conn...item43aa6d9108

Bowser 04-14-2013 12:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DirtJack (Post 21165343)
Why not fasten nuts to the fuse block, then use screws from the top just like the factory block. Having to unplug the wiring will be a pain every time you remove the tanks. If some one else services the bike they likely won't get it back together correctly.


the lid of the glovebox is removable, so remove it, cut a small slot and line it with rubber trim and run you wires in, if you need to remove the box then you can with minimum of fuss


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014