ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Thumpers (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   XR650R fires when cold (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=902888)

baachor 07-11-2013 09:33 PM

XR650R fires when cold
 
Hi,

I bought this bike recently and it starts having issues when starting. It fires in low RPM and engine even shots off when I rev it bit while warming up. It actually died on me on STOP sign today.

What could be the problem?Things I changed:

- I'm using 91 gas. (not sure what original owner used)
- There used to be this terrible "peace of nothing" instead of original backfire screen in air box,and original foam.
(so I put in backfire screen from XR's only and UNI) I have tried to put in back original peace of s*** with stock foam and still fires.
- Changed spark plug but it did it before anyway

Also I found there is this inline fuel filter instead of one in tank.

Or could it be higher humidity we have here in California now?

Or do I need to adjust needles? (haven't wholly cleaned carb yet,just cleaned it bit on bottom-no dirt)

Rest of RPMs are fine when I ride,it's mainly low RPM.

Stock carb
T4 pipe
Half choke

It doesn't start easy (even previous owner had trouble),maybe it's just me :lol3

cognugget 07-11-2013 09:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by baachor (Post 21846228)
Hi,

I bought this bike recently and it starts having issues when starting. It fires in low RPM and engine even shots off when I rev it bit while warming up. It actually died on me on STOP sign today.

What could be the problem?Things I changed:

- I'm using 91 gas. (not sure what original owner used)
- There used to be this terrible "peace of nothing" instead of original backfire screen in air box,and original foam.
(so I put in backfire screen from XR's only and UNI) I have tried to put in back original peace of s*** with stock foam and still fires.
- Changed spark plug but it did it before anyway

Also I found there is this inline fuel filter instead of one in tank.

Or could it be higher humidity we have here in California now?

Or do I need to adjust needles? (haven't wholly cleaned carb yet,just cleaned it bit on bottom-no dirt)

Rest of RPMs are fine when I ride,it's mainly low RPM.

Stock carb
T4 pipe
Half choke

It doesn't start easy (even previous owner had trouble),maybe it's just me :lol3

what jets. Mine takes 1 kick full choke then 1 kick half choke to fire when cold.

sintax 07-11-2013 11:13 PM

After having my XR for a few years I'll start this one off...

Any new XR should have the following done.

1) check and adjust valves
2) detail strip and clean the carb thoroughly. Ensure all jets are clean, ALL passages clear. Measure float level, adjust if necessary. Record all jet and needle settings.

Once the above had been done report back and we can talk. It's a big crap shoot until the above is done.

Best of luck

sintax 07-11-2013 11:14 PM

Oh and also confirm if you are running the restricted carb manifold...

baachor 07-12-2013 01:53 PM

Hi Sintax,

I'm going to clean all right now. I did valves yesterday again and seems like one of exhaust valves were too tight with no free play.FIxed that.Going to check it again just in case.And will post all details you wanted.

Quote:

Originally Posted by sintax (Post 21846531)
After having my XR for a few years I'll start this one off...

Any new XR should have the following done.

1) check and adjust valves
2) detail strip and clean the carb thoroughly. Ensure all jets are clean, ALL passages clear. Measure float level, adjust if necessary. Record all jet and needle settings.

Once the above had been done report back and we can talk. It's a big crap shoot until the above is done.

Best of luck

I don't know what that means.Sorry I'm new at R.

Quote:

Originally Posted by sintax (Post 21846532)
Oh and also confirm if you are running the restricted carb manifold...


sintax 07-12-2013 02:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by baachor (Post 21851308)
Hi Sintax,

I'm going to clean all right now. I did valves yesterday again and seems like one of exhaust valves were too tight with no free play.FIxed that.Going to check it again just in case.And will post all details you wanted.



I don't know what that means.Sorry I'm new at R.


Good man! make sure its spotless.

For the XR there were 2 intake manifolds produced. One that was used on smog equipment bikes are "restricted" they have a smaller intake size where as the HRC part, is opened up and has much better flow. This is a normal upgrade done during the "uncorking" procedure.


Here is a pic of the restricted...

http://www.moto-recyclers.net/media/...772ab586_m.JPG


And here is the unrestricted....

http://thumbs4.ebaystatic.com/d/l225...lNFqaBVfVw.jpg


BTW, where in SoCal are you? I'm in Riverside.

kubiak 07-12-2013 02:34 PM

If you still have the problem check your stator or excited coil thingy. My xr600 did the same thing and I put a new stator Assy in and back to one kick starting hot or cold.

baachor 07-12-2013 05:29 PM

Hi sintax,

it took me extra time as I couldn't unscrew the link arm screw,had to use Dremel (gotta need new screw in there)
So here we go:
1. manifold is unrestricted
2. jets are: pilot 68S, main 170,throttle needle in middle (3th) position,pilot screw in 7 full turns
3. spottles :D

I live in Costa Mesa. You are close :D

Thank You for helping,I appreciate it! :clap

Quote:

Originally Posted by sintax (Post 21851396)
Good man! make sure its spotless.

For the XR there were 2 intake manifolds produced. One that was used on smog equipment bikes are "restricted" they have a smaller intake size where as the HRC part, is opened up and has much better flow. This is a normal upgrade done during the "uncorking" procedure.

BTW, where in SoCal are you? I'm in Riverside.

kubiak,
I'm actually in process of getting rewound one from BD as it is stock stator :huh
So that would fix that if it is the issue.

Thanx :D

Quote:

Originally Posted by kubiak (Post 21851593)
If you still have the problem check your stator or excited coil thingy. My xr600 did the same thing and I put a new stator Assy in and back to one kick starting hot or cold.


kubiak 07-12-2013 06:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by baachor (Post 21852768)
Hi sintax,

it took me extra time as I couldn't unscrew the link arm screw,had to use Dremel (gotta need new screw in there)
So here we go:
1. manifold is unrestricted
2. jets are: pilot 68S, main 170,throttle needle in middle (3th) position,pilot screw in 7 full turns
3. spottles :D

I live in Costa Mesa. You are close :D

Thank You for helping,I appreciate it! :clap



kubiak,
I'm actually in process of getting rewound one from BD as it is stock stator :huh
So that would fix that if it is the issue.

Thanx :D

thats good about the stator. let us know how its going.

baachor 07-12-2013 06:20 PM

Yea, it needs it. Lot of work,all is stock except tail and LED blinkers (which won't flash even with LED flasher=one of many reasons it needs new stator)
Did you rewind yours?

Btw,I found this piece felt from carb while I was getting needle jet off. It is rusty and tiny. What the heck? Where it came from? It is rusty so assuming it's not from inside,but it felt when I was poking needle jet off with long stick from top. wierd

I noticed #17 between needle jet #3 and needle jet holder #21 is missing on schema. Is this it?


http://i39.servimg.com/u/f39/18/38/26/92/5_0110.jpg

Quote:

Originally Posted by kubiak (Post 21852936)
thats good about the stator. let us know how its going.


kubiak 07-12-2013 06:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by baachor (Post 21853058)
Yea, it needs it. Lot of work,all is stock except tail and LED blinkers (which won't flash even with LED flasher=one of many reasons it needs new stator)
Did you rewind yours?

Btw,I found this piece felt from carb while I was getting needle jet off. It is rusty and tiny. What the heck? Where it came from? It is rusty so assuming it's not from inside,but it felt when I was poking needle jet off with long stick from top. wierd

I noticed #17 between needle jet #3 and needle jet holder #21 is missing on schema. Is this it?


http://i39.servimg.com/u/f39/18/38/26/92/5_0110.jpg

i got a 200 watt ricky stator for my old xr. the symtoms i was having was it would start in the morning no problem but after i stopped when it was hot it wouldnt restart till i let it cool down about an hour or so. it also had a low speed misfire. after the new stator everything was great.

baachor 07-12-2013 07:10 PM

That's strange that stator would do that.

I was about to send my for rewinding today,but waiting what sintax thinks is my problem.Then I will put it all together and try it out tomorrow after work.
And send stator out on Monday. Then electric journey starts :rofl

Quote:

Originally Posted by kubiak (Post 21853274)
i got a 200 watt ricky stator for my old xr. the symtoms i was having was it would start in the morning no problem but after i stopped when it was hot it wouldnt restart till i let it cool down about an hour or so. it also had a low speed misfire. after the new stator everything was great.


Trl Rdr 07-12-2013 07:33 PM

Question? I got a new stator, no rewind.
If you send one in for a rewind do they check the windings for the ignition? Or do you get the same one back with new lighting coils and your old Ignition coils?

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2

baachor 07-12-2013 07:39 PM

I'm not sure. Good question. Might call them up and find out. They are closed for weekend. BajaDesigns

Quote:

Originally Posted by Trl Rdr (Post 21853520)
Question? I got a new stator, no rewind.
If you send one in for a rewind do they check the windings for the ignition? Or do you get the same one back with new lighting coils and your old Ignition coils?

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2


kubiak 07-12-2013 07:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Trl Rdr (Post 21853520)
Question? I got a new stator, no rewind.
If you send one in for a rewind do they check the windings for the ignition? Or do you get the same one back with new lighting coils and your old Ignition coils?

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2

Im not sure on that one but i bought the new stator from ricky stator and it came ready to bolt on with new windings and two new exciter coils. the exciter coil is what went bad on my xr. my stock xr stator had one exciter coil and i got the new one in the mail and it had two on it. i called them and they said bolt it on its the updated one. so i did and it was perfect.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014