ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Orange Crush (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   KTM 990 Adventure Problem With Ralenti (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=914177)

Decepticon 08-23-2013 07:50 PM

KTM 990 Adventure Problem With Ralenti

Hi Everyone!

I am new in this page and I wanted to start posting with a different topic, but my anxiety grew stronger than my patience.

Last friday I left my KaTy M. in the garaje, aproximately 30 km before gas reserve signal. Wednesday I came back to ride it but the bike was very hard to start. If i gassed it, it ran, but she could not sustain the engine running at ralenti, at 1500 RPM.

I could make it to my job with her, turning off at every traffic light. I drove enough to need a gas fill . When I stopped to refill (only one tank) I moved the wires and connectors of the gas pump. I restarted it and she sustained ralenti at 1000 RPM. I filled the tank and ran away.

But the problem wasn´t that. The battery died because of the multiple start overs and traffic lights in the city. The electrician doesn´t know what the problem should be, and I think he is too lazy to discover. I want to do it myself.

Things you should know: In my country the best gas is 92 octane, and regular is 87. I fill it indistinctively with both and the performance is the same. The Injection mapping is disconnected to deal with that thrashy gas here.

Thanks for any hint.

Deuce 08-23-2013 08:37 PM

Most likely you need new fuel filters. In the left tank. How many KM's on your bike? :1drink

jfink 08-23-2013 08:50 PM

Fuel filters, exactly the problem. I had the same problem in Argentina and then again in Colombia in Cucuta. It gets expensive replacing these filters.

Decepticon 08-23-2013 09:04 PM

47000 km. But why Doesn´t the FI Sensor appears in the display? if the pump is clogged, the pressure is not the adequate and the fuel injection should not work properly