ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Orange Crush (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   HELP Dirty Throttle body- Ktm 990 adv r (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=940262)

x1valin1x 12-11-2013 08:48 AM

HELP Dirty Throttle body- Ktm 990 adv r
 
Hi all-
My friend has a Ktm adventure 990 R and we are in the process of doing some needed maintenance on it. Valves,sparkplugs, fluids etc. the list goes on :deal. I had a question about something that came up. So we took off the airbox, his rear throttle body is all dirty/ oil residue in there. In my 990 when I did maintenance the bodies were both dry and clean. He also told me that the rear spark plug was very wet. Also occasionally his bike would smoke a little bit and backfire. I was thinking his bodies need to be synched? Anyone else have some input?:freaky

bajamcguide 12-11-2013 09:57 AM

could be tight valves not sealing. how many miles since last valve check?

x1valin1x 12-12-2013 08:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bajamcguide (Post 22966328)
could be tight valves not sealing. how many miles since last valve check?

23,000 haha I'm not so sure he has ever done them.:rofl

Bullskin 12-12-2013 11:12 AM

My rear throttle body (on a 2010) has always had an oily residue at least as long as I can remember. Probably saw it at the first valve check. My bike has 36,000 miles and my valves have never required adjusting. I have never really worried about the oil residue. The bike has always performed flawlessly.

Newbusa 12-12-2013 12:09 PM

My 2010R has oil residue on rear throttle body as well and valves in spec.Does not seem to burn oil between changes,I just cleaned it up and re-installed. If it ain't broke don't fix it:lol3

Themastermike 12-12-2013 12:35 PM

2009R rear throttle body soiled, front clean as a whistle. Figured the fog from the oil breather would dump down the front inlet but doesn't appear to be doing so.

I doubt if it its any thing with tight valves. Just checked mine and all were in spec.

Mine does pop some in town. Runs good on the throttle. Will monitor.

Sent by telepathy

soupbone 12-12-2013 02:32 PM

dirty throttle body
 
2010R rear throttle body was dirty too. just looked at valves at 12k. all in spec. i figured it was the case breather. runs great with Wings no pop or backfire. still that dang snatchy throttle tho.

Newbusa 12-12-2013 04:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by soupbone (Post 22975674)
2010R rear throttle body was dirty too. just looked at valves at 12k. all in spec. i figured it was the case breather. runs great with Wings no pop or backfire. still that dang snatchy throttle tho.

I have the Akro pipes and a remap and mine does not have a snatchy throttle.
Remap was done on the Dyno by ECunleashed.

x1valin1x 12-15-2013 07:17 PM

Measurements taken today
 
Hi all just an update. Measurements were taken today of gaps and shims and everything was pretty close to being in spec. :puke1. Will keep everyone in the loop if we find out anything.

two trackin fool 01-12-2014 11:19 PM

2010
All original

12,500 miles ~ Rear Throttle body dirty . Occasional Pop or miss in left pipe at idle . I haven't made it to the valve covers yet .
My throttle seems to have mellowed OR I am just use to it :hmmmmm

Katoom72 01-13-2014 08:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by two trackin fool (Post 23206940)
2010
All original

12,500 miles ~ Rear Throttle body dirty . Occasional Pop or miss in left pipe at idle . I haven't made it to the valve covers yet .
My throttle seems to have mellowed OR I am just use to it :hmmmmm

i had terrible idle pop out of one pipe on my 950. Turned out to be the carb sync. When i synced them and over did it a bit the other cylinder started to pop badly. When in synced it correctly both cylinders ran perfect on idle.



Sent from my MB526 using Tapatalk

two trackin fool 01-13-2014 08:49 PM

Is that something I can do with the injection ?
Or do I need to have the dealer do it with the PCM ?

Sumi 01-13-2014 09:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by two trackin fool (Post 23215268)
Is that something I can do with the injection ?
Or do I need to have the dealer do it with the PCM ?

You can get an idea about it in this thread:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=841503

But IMO first check for vac leaks going on anywere near that throttle body (ports on the intake, rubber boots, TB proper seating), then I'd check the valve clearances (you are into that anyways, aren't you?) And if everything seems to be fine check the TB sync.

If I recall correctly the rear flow sensor*? (is that what it's called?) is also hooked up to that intake (at the vac port), so it can measure intake air flow or whatever - so any leak in this system could also lead to misfiring/backfiring into the TB. So check the connecting hose for any cracks. Don't know how to check though whether the sensor is working correctly - maybe swap it with the front sensor, and see if the problem shifts to the front cylinder?

*Edit: Looked it up in the fische: 61041085100 PRESSURE SENSOR.

I belive the guys who adjust the TB with TuneECU, rely on the values of these sensors, so if you also have a plugin type flow meter / other syncing tool, you can quite rule out if the problem lays somewhere in here. Also to get the job done properly, if you are really willing to dig into the deep, finding out what's going on, adjusting the sync and the TPS, you'd probably need TuneECU (and lots of free time:)). That said, it can be anything different, like the TB not providing enough fuel/shutting off all the fuel on closed throttle because of a failing TPS, or misinformation from one of the sensors (o2, pressure).. I believe it's quite hard to diagnose, so if the simple things don't solve the problem, maybe living with it is easier and cheaper than fixing it trial-by-error.

two trackin fool 01-13-2014 09:18 PM

Yes I am . Throttle body's off today . Porbley won't get back on it till Wed . Thanks ! I will get that done & see how she runs . I'm not easy on her so I would be surprised if the valves spec out good .

Katoom72 01-14-2014 04:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by two trackin fool (Post 23215268)
Is that something I can do with the injection ?
Or do I need to have the dealer do it with the PCM ?

Yes you can sync the throttle bodies.

But like Sumi said, first make sure there are no leaks of any kind. This is crucial as the sync is pointless when you have airleaks.

Syncing is like putting the cherry on top, the rest of the cake has to be perfect to make it work. :evil


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014