ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Thumpers (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   2014 klr 650 (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=940746)

n8dawg6 12-13-2013 01:20 PM

2014 klr 650

Fellas, just got the email announcement that they are making some changes to the 2014 KLR 650:

http://www.kawasaki.com/NPL/Default....-LeftRailPromo

hope the link works. Anyway, stiffer suspension, and redesigned the seat. with the narrow seat, i might actually be able to swing a leg over and mount this one. about the most interested i've been in a new bike since i started riding 4 yrs ago.

thoughts?

eakins 12-13-2013 02:49 PM

nice improvements but really no big deal.

sounds like they are just using stiffer spring rates and a different seat.
doubt the suspension components are any different that just rates.
they old rates were too soft anyway.
i'm sure the same junk rear shock.

save $ on a left over one or slightly used one and do that yourself.
betting the seat cushion is still way too soft. most toss stock seats anyway and buy a corbin, sargent or seat concepts.

buy a 10-13 and spend the savings on a Cogent or others rear shock. DDC valves & proper springs in the forks and a seat concept seat and you'll spend less and have a MUCH better bike.

atleast they are trying, but these are improvements that are cheap to them and don't really modernize the bike. if Kawasaki wanted to really improve the bike then FI the motor and truly upgrade the suspension with USD up front and a quality shock in the rear. They could keep everything else the same (except for FI pump interface on the tank) charge $500-$1000 more and they'd sell like wildfire. If they did that it would require new EPA cert$. Of course they won't do a damn until they are backed into an EPA wall and can't sell what they make now any longer. Same thing with the DR650...keeping pumping em out as they can w/ EPA averaging across all models.