ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Orange Crush (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   950 Adv no lights after main fuse blown (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=948070)

Bowber 01-18-2014 03:21 AM

950 Adv no lights after main fuse blown
 
Hi All

I'm after a bit of technical knowledge from you Adv experts.
This morning I pulled out my 950 to go for a ride with friends and when I tried to start it the main fuse blew.
Ok, changed the fuse, the terminals look ok for a 10 year old bike, bit of discolouration but no real corrosion, that includes the little tab that goes to the fuse.
So I turn on the ignition and it all comes to life as normal so I start it, no problems starting it so I thought all was fine.

Helmet on turn lights on, and they don't work!

Everything else works fine AND the fuse is fine for the lights, I even changed it for a new one twice to make sure.

So now I'm 2 hours into tracing the fault and I've come to a dead end.

Yellow out of the fuse block has power, the light switch seems ok, I used a continuity tester to find which wire did what, white seems to be side lights and brown/yellow seems to be head light.
I'm kind of stuck now as I don't have a wiring diagram and the wire colours change when they go into a connector block.

I'll put a bulb onto the feed up to the light switch next to make sure it can take a load but after that I'm kind of stuck because I don't know which colour wires to look for.

So does anyone have any pointers please?
Do the lights go through a relay or just direct through the switch?
I've checked the bulbs aren't blown, and the lights were off when the main fuse blew.
Lights don't work on side or main setting.

UK bike 2003/4 silver black

Steve

Sumi 01-18-2014 03:39 AM

Wiring diagram on page 53:

http://www.ktm950.info/library/asset...s%20Manual.pdf

Bowber 01-18-2014 03:59 AM

That's great, thanks.

I've now found the feed to the light switch can't take load, so by trying various connections I've got back to feeding power direct to the lighting fuse feed on the connector from the ignition switch so it's looking like it may be a broken wire on the ignition switch.

Got it off now and I'm about to strip the wires but decided to stop for a coffee, the ride out with my mates it buggered now so just need to fix this.

Thanks for the link
Steve

Bowber 01-18-2014 04:24 AM

Ok, I didn't realise the wiring diagram was in the back of the owners manual:shog

Not the switch it's the feed up to the ignition switch, the feed splits into 3 to go into the ignition switch and the one that feeds the lights must have a break, if I take a wire direct from any of the other two power feeds into the switch direct to the light feed the lights work fine (I'm bypassing the ignition switch by doing this) however a direct link from the light power feed to the light power out does nothing!
Now it gets harder because that's in the main wiring loom! I might just take a jump wire from the bottom or another red/white into the connector.

Not that it'll help much but I'll tell you what I do.
Be good to hear if this has happened to anyone else as well.

Steve

Sumi 01-18-2014 04:31 AM

Wiggle the cables near the steering stem and see if you can get it to work. That's were it tends to break.

Bowber 01-18-2014 05:01 AM

Ok found it.

This may already be known but all the red/whites are soldered together at the bottom next to the starter relay/main fuse.
Mine had corroded in the soldered connection and when I changed the fuse the one that feeds the lights had broken off but still been touching.
Bit of a stupid place to have 8-10 wires soldered together right where road salt will get in and corrode them, it'd have been better to have a sealed connector like the rest are!

Anyway I've now got to get all these wires soldered together with enough length to still reach.

Steve

Bowber 01-18-2014 07:08 AM

Thanks Sumi

I din't see your reply before but yes I'd heard that so I tried, but by process of elimination I got to the above solution.

They are a right pain to solder, 8 wires all at once.
I'm still not happy with it so I think I'll have another go and solder pairs onto large wires, then I can solder the large wires together or maybe screw them into a multi connection block.

Steve

Sumi 01-18-2014 09:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bowber (Post 23253090)
Thanks Sumi

I din't see your reply before but yes I'd heard that so I tried, but by process of elimination I got to the above solution.

They are a right pain to solder, 8 wires all at once.
I'm still not happy with it so I think I'll have another go and solder pairs onto large wires, then I can solder the large wires together or maybe screw them into a multi connection block.

Steve

Glad you've found the problem:) Don't rush the soldering, aim for a decent job or you'll be digging into there soon again.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014