Originally Posted by Brodovitch
Definitely Dakar, I think the rest of the FIM rounds followed the same rule a year later at most... the pros by then were all on 450s anyway, I think the transition was to give the privateers a break
I also seem to recall a year (2009? 2010?) when the 690s had to be fitted with restrictors to level the playing field compared to the 450s... need to do some research as I don't remember which class that rule applied to
knew about Dakar just wasn't sure about the other races...
Originally Posted by JMo (& piglet)
2012 FIM Cross Country Rally regs here:
You are still able to race +450cc machines in a world championship event (see page 94 & 96).
However, to clarify (see page 6) - the 'World Championship' itself is only for 450cc (or presumably less) machines - just the events themselves still have a +450cc trophy attached - you would just not eligible for World Championship points.