2 cents worth....
I claim ignorance in this topic, but it would seem to me that the default value would be "no-go" or the famed "EWS" warning. Activation merely steps the system into a "run-capable" mode. If you deactivate the system you would fall back to default "no-go". I don't think this is what we're looking for.