ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2005, 09:43 PM   #1
Hudman OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Oddometer: 35
640 and more light

I've had my 05 640 Adventure for about six months now and love the bike. What a blast to ride and for what I want to do with it it's the best bike for me. The lights do suck however and now that the days are getting shorter I need to do something. I spoke to Trailtech today and they have a new 100w HID light that comes out in a month or so for about $300 a pair and look like they could really work well on my bike. I think I'll get them when they come out but it's a few months away. In the mean time does anyone know if I can run a hot "jump wire" from my Hi Beam side over to the Low Beam side so I can run both at the same time when the Hi's are on? I've done it to my truck and don't know why I could not do the same on my bike? Thanks for any input.
Hudman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 09:54 PM   #2
Trevor S
Cap'n Flatulence !
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Townsville, QLD, Australia
Oddometer: 1,212
I did this to mine to run high and low

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...69&postcount=9

in this thread here

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=94226
Trevor S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 06:05 AM   #3
SRG
SRG
 
SRG's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia USA
Oddometer: 1,077
If you carefully take the switch apart and put a middle detent between the hi and lo setting you can make both come on at once. If you fiddle w/ unmodified switch between hi and lo you can get it to do this and see what I mean. Running them both on this way is an improvement - but not a dramatic one.

SRG
__________________
Lazy Traveler
SRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 06:57 AM   #4
Hudman OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Oddometer: 35
Thank you both for the reply's. I"ll try the switch mod and see if I can get it to work for me. Thank you again.
Hudman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 08:24 AM   #5
WageSlave
Gnarly Adventurer
 
WageSlave's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: The OC
Oddometer: 343
Another possible approach?!?!

I've been wondering about this myself. I've followed the other threads on the topic but no one has mentioned the circuit for the high beam flasher switch. When that switch is toggled the high and low beams work together. Can't the standard Hi/Lo beam toggle switch be wired into the same circuit so that the Hi beam setting operates off of it?

Has anyone looked into this?
__________________
WageSlave

Current ride - '09 DRZ-400SM (Adventurized)
WageSlave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 08:41 AM   #6
sashapave
riders on the strom
 
sashapave's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Location: Oakland CA
Oddometer: 1,424
i know you're waiting for the new trailtech HIDs, but i'm very happy with the existing ones i just put on the big beast:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=100201

i was told the new models were coming out 'this month'... back in july. they're great guys, but perhaps a bit ambitious with their timelines
__________________
11 250XC: Tweak Bunny
09 TE 610: Gunnar
74 Vespa Rally: Cream Dream
A ship in port is safe, but that's not what ships are built for. -Admiral Grace Hopper
sashapave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014