ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2007, 07:47 PM   #1
JayBo1 OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
JayBo1's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Oddometer: 2,723
KTM wiring loom connector blocks

I want to connect different model electrical equipment (switch blocks, start pushbutton, kill switch, indicator switch, etc from the EXC range) onto my 640 Adventure but the electrical connection blocks are different. Can you buy the electrical connector blocks that the KTM factory uses on the 640 Adventure as a kit for making up yourself?

I don't want to butcher the standard kit, as I want everything I take off put in a box for safe storage for when the bike retires to general adventure touring use in a couple of years. I would also rather not splice in second connector blocks into the main wiring loom to bypass the standard connectors.

An alternative for me would be to buy all the standard 640 Adventure bits from a "parted out" one and snip and solder here and there, but that seems like a PITA and possibly more expensive and potentially less reliable.
__________________
JayBo on Safari/Dakar
#101 Dakar 2015, Kiwi Safari Team, Perth, WA
KTM 450 Rally ... Dakar ready
KTM 530 EXC-R
Cagiva 750 Elefant - Lucky Explorer '88
JayBo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 09:16 AM   #2
crazybrit
Beastly Adventurer
 
crazybrit's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Oddometer: 8,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBo1
I want to connect different model electrical equipment (switch blocks, start pushbutton, kill switch, indicator switch, etc from the EXC range) onto my 640 Adventure but the electrical connection blocks are different. Can you buy the electrical connector blocks that the KTM factory uses on the 640 Adventure as a kit for making up yourself?

I don't want to butcher the standard kit, as I want everything I take off put in a box for safe storage for when the bike retires to general adventure touring use in a couple of years. I would also rather not splice in second connector blocks into the main wiring loom to bypass the standard connectors.

An alternative for me would be to buy all the standard 640 Adventure bits from a "parted out" one and snip and solder here and there, but that seems like a PITA and possibly more expensive and potentially less reliable.
Have you pulled the front of the LC4 off and figured out what classes of connectors you need. The switch unit (turn, light etc) IIRC is standard molex and easy to find. Other stuff is harder. Example, I was able to find replacement pins for the stator connectors from K&L (had to find a dealer of theirs as they only sell in bags of 100), didn't check on the housing as I didn't need one. I doubt you need stator connectors howeber. For the 2 pin connectors and housing that are on the end of the front brake switch and the flasher unit (so they can plug into the factory loom), I had to get them from Sommer KTM in Germany as I couldn't find a retailer in the US (sent all the major distributors jpegs of the connector and they'd never seen anything like it).

You might be more lucky down-under as a lot of the control wiring is metric connectors, stuff that aparantly isn't common here in the US.

Tony
crazybrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 11:35 AM   #3
Tempo
Stumptown Native
 
Tempo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon
Oddometer: 684
I am also interested for the same reasons.

So far I've been successful just cramming enough wire into the factory female connectors then taping and zip tieing the wires in place so they don't wiggle free. But a proper male end would be better.

Haven't wanted to ask KTM what they want for it... probably way too much!

I've got a brilliant electronics shop in the area that I plan to visit as they have tons of connectors. But just haven't gotten around to it yet.
Tempo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 11:52 AM   #4
crazybrit
Beastly Adventurer
 
crazybrit's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Oddometer: 8,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempo
Haven't wanted to ask KTM what they want for it... probably way too much!
KTM doesn't sell connectors. Only complete components with connectors already on. Sommer KTM in Germany has put in the effort to source connectors that are compatible but they did this themselves AFAIK.

Some stuff is Molex and easily obtainable. Other stuff isn't available in the US.

Quote:
I've got a brilliant electronics shop in the area that I plan to visit as they have tons of connectors. But just haven't gotten around to it yet.
Who is this? If you say Norvac, I'm gonna laugh out loud. They used to be good. These days a pale immitation of what they once were. Also, I went there when I was looking for LC4 connectors. I doubt they ever had the KTM ones I had to order from Sommer. They didn't even have Molex unless I wanted a pack of 25. I sent JPEGS to DigiKey, Mouser etc etc and none had ever seen the connector style thats on the end of the flasher and front brake switch.
crazybrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 12:15 PM   #5
Tempo
Stumptown Native
 
Tempo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon
Oddometer: 684
Translation... unless they are Molex, Sommer is the only other choice. Thanks for saving me a wild goose chase.

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazybrit
If you say Norvac, I'm gonna laugh out loud.
Really... wow I haven't been there in years, makes me sad to hear they've gone downhill. Last time I was there looking for oddball electric bits they had everything under the sun, and what they didn't have they found and ordered for me. What a shame.
Tempo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 04:08 PM   #6
JayBo1 OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
JayBo1's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Oddometer: 2,723
Thanks for the replies dudes.

crazybrit
Quote:
Some stuff is Molex and easily obtainable. Other stuff isn't available in the US.
I'll track down the Molex ones without too much problems then. I'll see what I come up with on the other ones and let you know on here if I find something that might help you out with Euro spec connectors. It is just the "front end" connectors I'm looking for at the moment so not too worried about stator etc.

crazybrit:
Quote:
For the 2 pin connectors and housing that are on the end of the front brake switch and the flasher unit (so they can plug into the factory loom), I had to get them from Sommer KTM in Germany...
The front brake switch isn't an issue for me as I'll be installing an EXC master cylinder and front brake switch and it's a simple spade crimp lug connector into the main loom. (I suspect you guys must have a different front brake switch connection for US market though as even the standard 640A switch is spade crimp connector. Don't you guys have to have hydraulic pressure switch as opposed to our lever operated microswitch?).

Tempo:
Quote:
So far I've been successful just cramming enough wire into the factory female connectors then taping and zip tieing the wires in place so they don't wiggle free. But a proper male end would be better.
This certainly won't cut it for me. I need secure and reliable for the Safari Pig as the Aus Safari is around 10 days and 6,000 km's with 850km stages on ocassions.
__________________
JayBo on Safari/Dakar
#101 Dakar 2015, Kiwi Safari Team, Perth, WA
KTM 450 Rally ... Dakar ready
KTM 530 EXC-R
Cagiva 750 Elefant - Lucky Explorer '88
JayBo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 12:59 PM   #7
Deshojo
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2004
Oddometer: 24
Another source of connectors

This company (based in UK) sell a lot of vehicle wiring kit, some of which looks like the connectors used on the KTM 640.

http://www.vehicle-wiring-products.e...connectors.php

I spent the weekend installing an HID lamp conversion and ended up thinking it would be good to rebuild much of the wiring loom with better quality water-proof connectors. I have used the company quite a lot and they are very reliable but I'm not sure about export to the US
Deshojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014