User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-11-2007, 11:46 PM   #1
RGun OP
n00b

Oddometer: 6
Golden Triangle & riding to "Secret" Laos

Learning to ride a motorcycle up in the northern Golden Triangle region of Thailand
was something my Dad set up for me in the Easter holidays.

The aim was for me to get trained up for us to tour Laos in August on Honda XRs, all the way to the Vietnam border
and on to the secret headquarters of the Pathet Lao.
I had been to Laos & Cambodia before, riding pillion on the back of Dad's GS last year.
But this time I would be riding my own bike!

But back to training, I had Thai Enduro ace Khun Nop training me on his training course outside Chiang Mai.

I stared out on his ratscoot but it wasn't long before I graduated to the Honda XR which was going to be my ride
for the rest of my time in South East Asia. though it wasn't until the second day that I finally got some "air"!

On the third day we went up the dirt track to Doi Suthep Mountain above the city of Chiang Mai.

This was great hair-raising fun, especially the very steep sections -
I didn’t think I would make it up to the top as the deep ruts
sometimes didn’t give you much of an option, barely inches from the edge.
Terrifying but incredibly exhilarating at the same time.

But Nop had taken all the indicators and headlight off the XR making it cheaper to crash.
Apparently, I still bent the handlebars and broke both brake & clutch levers – 500bht – cheers Dad!

April is the hottest month in Thailand and understandably the time the Thais celebrate Songkhran the water festival
celebrating the lunar new year.
In Chiang Mai they stretch a one-day holiday into seven days of water splashing mayhem.

No one is immune no matter how cute

We had to adjust our riding accordingly - it is safer to pull up and be drenched
than trying to continue through a wall of water.
Some of it had blocks of ice!