Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-13-2008, 08:36 AM   #1
Raoul Duke OP
█║▌│ █│║▌ ║││█║▌ │

Oddometer: 911
2008 KLR or 2009 F800 GS for multi-year round the world trip?

It's time for me to start selling/buying/swapping bikes around again. In about 27 months I'll be leaving for a 2+ year trip around the world. Right now the two bike options I've targeted in on are the new KLR and the new F800 GS.

The main, main, main criteria for my purchase will be reliability since I'll obviously be in some pretty unpopulated areas and, to be honest, I'm not a mechanical genius. I DO NOT want this trip to end or break me financially because my bike decides to be quirky.

So maybe my question should be - Which would you trust and why?

The power of the F800 is really tempting and I have a feeling it would be a more comfortable and capable ride in the end.

The reputation of the KLR for being simple enough to fix just about anywhere and cheap enough to throw away and replace with an Enfield if need be gives me second thoughts on the BMW, though.

I know this is the GS section but I'm really hoping you guys can give me some unvarnished feedback. Help me out guys.

Any other bikes you're recommend would be helpful too.

Thanks!
Raoul Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 08:50 AM   #2
GodSilla
I did that.

Oddometer: 7,597
A couple of things to keep in mind about the GS800.
Firstly, as a new model you may well be doing the final R&D for BMW, finding out the hard way what they didn't get right. Secondly, you need to check dealer support for where you're going. One thing about BMW, if you can find communications and demonstrate you have the cash they will get the parts to you somehow, but you will pay.
The KLR is a known quantity, but the dealer support caveat still applies.
Which bike will tolerate crap fuel the best? Always worth a thought.