ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2008, 06:45 PM   #1
KTMarty OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
KTMarty's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Renton,WA
Oddometer: 322
Speedometer not working!!

The other day I took off my multi function speedometer on my 06 950 to route some wires and now the speedometer and mileage does not work but everything else works. Went over to my buddies and we connect my unit to his bike (05 950) and it works fine. So I know it must be the line to the unit or the speed sensor went bad.

I checked the plug with all the wires and nothing seems to be pulled out or broken ect.

Is there a way to check the speed sensor by using a multimeter? I tried but could not get a reading when connection to lines 15 or 14 while turning the wheel on either bikes.

Sure wish I could check continuity from the speed sensor to the plug that goes into the multifunction speedo.

I checked the fuse and it good also.

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Here is a wire spec diagram



Thx
__________________
Marty

2010 KTM 450EXC (FSL)
06 KTM 950 Adventure (Orange)


Fire Road Closure Report

Dual Sport Tire price comarison

2008 Idaho ride

Camp Chair
KTMarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 07:05 PM   #2
JOKER650
Beastly Adventurer
 
JOKER650's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: British Columbia , Canada.....Eh
Oddometer: 1,527
Does everything or anything else work?
If not...is there a fuse for the dash display?

edit: oops..yes I see that fuse. Is it ok?
__________________
Life's short...ride far

Over 2000 plated dirt riders...Digg'n up the dirt every other day, all over BC

http://www.dualsportbc.com/
JOKER650 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 07:42 PM   #3
KTMarty OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
KTMarty's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Renton,WA
Oddometer: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOKER650
Does everything or anything else work?
If not...is there a fuse for the dash display?

edit: oops..yes I see that fuse. Is it ok?
Yes everything else does work (high beam light, neutral light, directional light, engine heat, clock, and mileage is displayed but does not increment)

When turning the key on the unit shows 21 (wheel size) then back to 0.

Yes the fuse is OK.

__________________
Marty

2010 KTM 450EXC (FSL)
06 KTM 950 Adventure (Orange)


Fire Road Closure Report

Dual Sport Tire price comarison

2008 Idaho ride

Camp Chair
KTMarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 07:50 PM   #4
JOKER650
Beastly Adventurer
 
JOKER650's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: British Columbia , Canada.....Eh
Oddometer: 1,527
Check that the wires are in the plug properly. Gently pull the wires one at a time while holding the plug.
Look down into the plugs to see if there is something wrong with the contact tabs.
__________________
Life's short...ride far

Over 2000 plated dirt riders...Digg'n up the dirt every other day, all over BC

http://www.dualsportbc.com/
JOKER650 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 10:16 AM   #5
BobbyC
n00b
 
BobbyC's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: NJ
Oddometer: 1,353
Check the speedo cable at two places.

First, where the factory ziptied to the brake cable. Jiggle it around while riding to see if it changes. If this is the problem, you have 2 options. Replace the cable ($80) or cut the housing and solder the 3 wires where it broke.

Second, check the speedo cable down by the fender. It's known to rub on the fender and break.

You can do a search as these are 2 very common problems.
__________________
-Bobby
'08 KTM 450 EXC-R

"I LOVE my bike!!!"
BobbyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 10:53 AM   #6
Sheep Shagger
Show me your fleece
 
Sheep Shagger's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Where men are men and sheep get nervous
Oddometer: 2,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTMarty
Is there a way to check the speed sensor by using a multimeter? I tried but could not get a reading when connection to lines 15 or 14 while turning the wheel on either bikes.
I can't say I tried on the 950/990 but other KTM's the speedo pickup is a simple magnetic switch, so the easy way to test with a multimeter is to use continuity or diode test. What did you have the multimeter set too?
Sheep Shagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 11:37 AM   #7
alphajory
Studly Adventurer
 
alphajory's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: canada
Oddometer: 586
I had the same problem earlier this year. Took the cluster off to reroute some wires and the speedo didn't work once i put all back. If the odometer is working the cable up to the speedo is fine. I found that there are two connectors for the speedo, the one the plugs into the instrument housing and another connection further down closer to the fork tubes, where only a couple of wires are connected, this was the one that was loose. I must have pulled the plug out just enough to break the connection when removing the front plastics.
alphajory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 12:13 PM   #8
Dirt Vader
44444444444444444
 
Dirt Vader's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: north georgia
Oddometer: 838
you can apply for some electrical problem bailout money from dem'crats. sorry reflex action.

sounds like it is your sending unit, check its position (gap). and its resistance, should not be open circuit. thats my $.02, where my change mr obama.
__________________
"...the woods are lovely, dark and deep
but i have promises to keep
and miles to go before i sleep...."
FOR SALE
04 Tuono 07 TE510 tagged
Dirt Vader is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 06:32 PM   #9
KTMarty OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
KTMarty's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Renton,WA
Oddometer: 322
Thanks all for the tips.

Tried wiggling the wires as I rode home from work - Still no odo

Pulled things apart again and found the three wire plug behind the headlight that connect from the speed sensor to to multi function speedo unit. I Did continuity check on the three wires to the plug that goes into the multi function speedo unit (Blue/orange, black/orange & black/brown) and no broken circuits.

How do you check continuity check from the speed sensor to this three wire plug?
__________________
Marty

2010 KTM 450EXC (FSL)
06 KTM 950 Adventure (Orange)


Fire Road Closure Report

Dual Sport Tire price comarison

2008 Idaho ride

Camp Chair
KTMarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 06:41 PM   #10
Sheep Shagger
Show me your fleece
 
Sheep Shagger's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Where men are men and sheep get nervous
Oddometer: 2,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTMarty
Thanks all for the tips.

Tried wiggling the wires as I rode home from work - Still no odo

Pulled things apart again and found the three wire plug behind the headlight that connect from the speed sensor to to multi function speedo unit. I Did continuity check on the three wires to the plug that goes into the multi function speedo unit (Blue/orange, black/orange & black/brown) and no broken circuits.

How do you check continuity check from the speed sensor to this three wire plug?
From the diagram posted, it should only be the 2 wires that go to the multi function unit you need to test (black/yellow & dark blue&yellow ). Run the meter across those, spin the wheel slowly and you should get pulses of continuity and/or change in resistance. (This is from my experience with older KTM pickups). But the ones I have used before, only had 2 wires, I'm not sure why a third wire goes to the tach.
Sheep Shagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 04:26 PM   #11
Paulinator
n00b
 
Joined: May 2011
Oddometer: 4
2008 KTM Adventure S Speedo not working

Speedo reads 0 and miles don't turn.
Everything else works.

Changed sensor and cable, and still didn't work.
Took speedo off my bike and put on buddies bike, and it worked.
Took speedo off my buddies bike and put it on my bike, and it didn't work.
No, I've never taken front wheel off bike.

Anybody got a fix?
Paulinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 04:58 PM   #12
cpmodem
Orange Caveman
 
cpmodem's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: masa yee yah tee 59 14' 9" N / 135 26' 42" W
Oddometer: 7,103
I think you've pretty much narrowed it down to the unit itself, if I'm reading you correctly. You might be able to get a speedo shop to fix it. Your other choice seems to be a new unit.

Took speedo off my bike and put on buddies bike, and it worked.
Took speedo off my buddies bike and put it on my bike, and it didn't work.

If your speedo worked on your buddy's bike, there can't be anything wrong with his sensor, cable, ECU or wiring.
__________________

-cp

DISCLAIMER: All observations made in this post are mine and based solely on my own anecdotal experiences, and may contain large doses of facetiousness. YMMV, of course. You are "on your own", and I take no responsibility if someone tries anything in this post and gets into trouble with the law, damages their person or property, or goes blind. Take everything you read or hear "anywhere" butt especially on the Web with a large dose of salt.


cpmodem screwed with this post 05-27-2011 at 10:19 AM
cpmodem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 08:45 AM   #13
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,759
That is really strange.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulinator View Post
Took speedo off my bike and put on buddies bike, and it worked.
Anybody got a fix?
Is the position of the sensor damaged or something? You could check it with your friend's. Err! your friend has an S or a 950? Do you install the sensot properly or wrong side close to the rotor bolts. You do have the rotor bolts that trigger the sensor? The only thing it could be is the first sensor got damaged and the second wrongly installed?? can't think of smthg else. Keep us posted.
Cheers.
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 08:57 AM   #14
cpmodem
Orange Caveman
 
cpmodem's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: masa yee yah tee 59 14' 9" N / 135 26' 42" W
Oddometer: 7,103
__________________

-cp

DISCLAIMER: All observations made in this post are mine and based solely on my own anecdotal experiences, and may contain large doses of facetiousness. YMMV, of course. You are "on your own", and I take no responsibility if someone tries anything in this post and gets into trouble with the law, damages their person or property, or goes blind. Take everything you read or hear "anywhere" butt especially on the Web with a large dose of salt.

cpmodem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 11:14 AM   #15
Art Vandelay II
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Oddometer: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulinator View Post
got a fix?
I ended up taking mine to another dealer. Turns out one of the front wheel spacers was missing on my wheel. Which caused the wheel to shimmy back and forth. That eventually destroyed the sensor and even damaged the cable. So I had to replace both.

The odd thing is I never felt the spacer missing while at speed so I never knew it was missing. I did notice a weird feeling at very low speeds, but it felt like a fork was sticking. I had never felt anything like that before so I couldn't even describe it to the mechanic. I never thought to take the wheel off and check for that myself because the front wheel had never been off on my bike. So it came from the factory missing a spacer. Lovely.
Art Vandelay II is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014