ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 08-08-2009, 06:49 AM   #1
spidennis OP
SandStorm Adventures
 
spidennis's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: South Padre Island, Texas .... far from anything
Oddometer: 1,275
garmin inland lakes and waterways maps

I'm looking at getting the garmin inland lakes and waterways maps .... I'll be doing a bunch of backwater canoeing and portaging in the adirondack mts of upstate ny. I was wondering just what kind of resolution these maps had. can anyone that has this go and look to see if the fulton chain of lakes up to the saranac lakes had any detail?

I'm also torn between getting the preloaded data card or getting the blank card and dvd. can the dvd be viewed on the computer?

this there better method? topos maybe? and (some of) those are free. but I'd still need to get a data card ....... I've seen 64, 128, is 512 the biggest?

btw, I got a 478 ....
and from what I understand I can't use the "vision" version of the maps.
__________________
2003 Yamaha WR250F (texas street legal, my primary ride, oh yeah baby!)
List of mods and rides:
http://www.sandslave.com/2003wr250f/
List of my Spot Tracker Adventures:
http://www.spotadventures.com/user/p...?user_id=53368
spidennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 10:52 AM   #2
zedx9
Gnarly Adventurer
 
zedx9's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Central Oregon
Oddometer: 275
I'll be curious to see other folks input also. I have a 478, 512mb blank memory chip and have tried to download my TOPO 2008 info to the chip. It appears that the maps made it but the gps does not show the topo I'm probably just not turning something on or off or whatever. Operator error. I would think you could see all of the info on the DVD on the computer because I can with TOPO 2008. I could only find 512mb on the top end of the storage scale. I too want to add inland waters so let's see what everyone else has to say.
__________________
I may be old but boy am I slow!
zedx9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 10:57 AM   #3
Boon Booni
Red Clay Halo
 
Boon Booni's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Richmond, Va
Oddometer: 13,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by zedx9
I'll be curious to see other folks input also. I have a 478, 512mb blank memory chip and have tried to download my TOPO 2008 info to the chip. It appears that the maps made it but the gps does not show the topo I'm probably just not turning something on or off or whatever. Operator error. I would think you could see all of the info on the DVD on the computer because I can with TOPO 2008. I could only find 512mb on the top end of the storage scale. I too want to add inland waters so let's see what everyone else has to say.

Here's the trick. You've got to turn off City Nav XXXX. It over rides any maps you have loaded on the unit.

From the Map Page, hit menu, go to map information, hit menu, select "hide all" scroll up to the maps you want to show scroll left so the box next to the map is highlight, and hit enter. It should show a check box. Hit quit and your maps should be showing.


Do they still make preloaded data cards for the 478? I know they make preloaded SD cards for the newer units, not so sure they make them for the 478 though.

EDIT: Oops should have check before I opened my mouth, it appears they do have preloaded cards for the 478.
__________________
Where the fuck...
Where the fuck is the bike?
You gotta be shitting me.
Where the fuck is the road?
Boon Booni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 11:31 AM   #4
zedx9
Gnarly Adventurer
 
zedx9's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Central Oregon
Oddometer: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gramps
Here's the trick. You've got to turn off City Nav XXXX. It over rides any maps you have loaded on the unit.

From the Map Page, hit menu, go to map information, hit menu, select "hide all" scroll up to the maps you want to show scroll left so the box next to the map is highlight, and hit enter. It should show a check box. Hit quit and your maps should be showing.


Do they still make preloaded data cards for the 478? I know they make preloaded SD cards for the newer units, not so sure they make them for the 478 though.

EDIT: Oops should have check before I opened my mouth, it appears they do have preloaded cards for the 478.
Very nice Thanks for the info. I had been trying to figure it out and either I was missing something in Garmins instructions or they were not well writen. You filled that void, whatever. I just turned it on an it works great.
__________________
I may be old but boy am I slow!
zedx9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 10:17 AM   #5
spidennis OP
SandStorm Adventures
 
spidennis's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: South Padre Island, Texas .... far from anything
Oddometer: 1,275
Procedure to put maps on bland data card ?

What's the Procedure to put maps on bland data card ?

I finally found the ny topo files I had thought I downloaded and I'm gonna get the inland lakes and waterway DVD and want to put them on a blank data card.

Now I got to figure out how to go about doing this on my mac .....

back in march I downloaded this garmin stuff:
(while I still had hi-speed internet, now I'm on dialup)
RoadTripforMac_202.dmg
InstallGarminCommunicatorPluginforMac_264.dmg
BaseCampforMac_2007Beta.dmg
WebUpdaterForMac_205.dmg
POILoaderforMac_210.dmg

Do I have what I need here?

edit:
I clicked on the RoadTripforMac_202.dmg and it installed:
Garmin RoadTrip
Garmin MapManager
Garmin MapInstall

and ....... I was able to view the ny topo maps! cool.
and this ny topo map I got (free) seems to have enough detail for me?! me thinks!

so now I'm thinking .....
does the 478 have enough internal memory to also have these topos in it as well? or do I have to go to a high priced garmin data card?
__________________
2003 Yamaha WR250F (texas street legal, my primary ride, oh yeah baby!)
List of mods and rides:
http://www.sandslave.com/2003wr250f/
List of my Spot Tracker Adventures:
http://www.spotadventures.com/user/p...?user_id=53368

spidennis screwed with this post 08-09-2009 at 10:41 AM
spidennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 05:49 PM   #6
spidennis OP
SandStorm Adventures
 
spidennis's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: South Padre Island, Texas .... far from anything
Oddometer: 1,275
I decided not to get the inland lakes and waterways dvd or preprogrammed card and instead use the free topo download that I already had (and found again). I ordered a blank 512 data card via a ebay store and I'll attempt to install it. I don't have any directions on doing this so I'll just plug the card into the 478 and wire it to my mac and see what I can do from there.

Until I can see some detail on inland lakes and waterways I'll be happy enough with topo maps as I can already see that detail.

__________________
2003 Yamaha WR250F (texas street legal, my primary ride, oh yeah baby!)
List of mods and rides:
http://www.sandslave.com/2003wr250f/
List of my Spot Tracker Adventures:
http://www.spotadventures.com/user/p...?user_id=53368

spidennis screwed with this post 08-10-2009 at 06:01 PM
spidennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014