User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-12-2009, 09:26 AM   #1
rhys OP
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,661
Which airhead to buy(?)

I looked at a '75 750/6 this week.... turns out it had a salvage title and oxidized aluminum, $2,000 for a machine with a sexy Corbin and a solid sounding engine. I passed on it.

I graduated from high school and found my nose pressed up against the glass of a showroom with blue toaster tank Beemers on the floor. I hadn't yet purchased a bike, but I fell in love with the blue and the toaster tank. That summer I bought a Honda CB100 and taught myself how to ride...... over a dozen bikes and thousands of miles later (to include 60,000 on an Oilhead) I still long for an airhead Beemer.

It doesn't have to be blue, nor must I have a toaster tank, but I want an affordable airhead. What is the wisdom with regard to best year models for me to consider from????
rhys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 09:55 AM   #2
dduelin
Oh boy that was close

Oddometer: 1,345
Can o worms but I say '81-84 twin shock models. You get the 1981 improvements - Brembo brakes, lightened flywheel, Nikasil cylinders, electronic ignition and still have the classic airhead fenders, tank, and side covers.

Dave
dduelin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 10:28 AM   #3
GB
Mod Squad

Oddometer: 55,838
Let the airhead experts in Old's Cool give you their input.. moved it there.
Old 12-12-2009, 10:42 AM   #4
Uncle Ernie
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 3,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by dduelin
Can o worms but I say '81-84 twin shock models. You get the 1981 improvements - Brembo brakes, lightened flywheel, Nikasil cylinders, electronic ignition and still have the classic airhead fenders, tank, and side covers.